July 14, 2021
Photo credit: Courtney Santos-Awkwardeye Photography

Texas’ electronic rockers CEDARS released their new album Cowards on June 11th, via Gruene Records. Today the band has unleashed their new video Formerly Known taken from the album. Check out the video below.

The band on Formerly Known: “Formerly Known is a story of escape and redemption. Making this video was a way to reclaim pain and transmute it into something powerful. Drawing from past experiences, the Formerly Known video was crafted to create a conversation about something that’s happening every moment around the globe, but no one wants to talk about.”

The band of the concept of the Cowards album: “Cowards,  at its core, is an album about choosing yourself, even in the face of great consequences. So often we find ourselves in situations or systems that ask us to minimize ourselves or our desires or even our needs, but there comes a point where we have to make some really tough choices: do we continue to support the system that is crushing us and building itself on our backs, or do we honour our own still, small voice? 

The album is the story of finding ourselves in a season of life where those choices were very pressing, and very loud, with very real consequences. There are times when death is necessary to make room for the new, the better, and sometimes the knife is in our own hands. The album, though full of heavy moments, is also woven with bright strands of hope and light, the kind that can only come after great loss and struggle. How quietly we go to war.”

Cowards track listing

  1. Claymore
  2. Lost at Sea
  3. Chasing Vapor
  4. Happy Now
  5. Mockingbirds
  6. Funeral Dress
  7. Formerly Known
  8. Give Up The Ghost
  9. Bearing Swords
  10. Cowards
  11. Liminal


CEDARS is an electronic rock band from central Texas whose music incorporates the DIY ethos of bands like The Pixies and PJ Harvey, the haunting atmospheres of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails, and the infectious grooves of MuteMath. CEDARS is more than just a band: it’s is a vision of community, a community driven by the idea that beauty can save the world. Led by longtime friends Sandeigh Kennedy and Drew Heaton, they blend industrial and organic textures, drawing together disparate elements to marry complex sonic landscapes with compelling stories. Gritty synths and wispy vocals; hard hitting beats and delicate textures are the tools they use to tell powerful, authentic stories that explore truth and beauty.

CEDARS online:

Official Website