January 26, 2022

The 450s is a new American rock band which features The Rods drummer Carl Canedy and anyone expecting a Rods type clone is going to be in for a major surprise. It seems that the musicians came together as an ad-hoc grouping rather than with any specified agenda and this informality has, in part, helped to create an album that is probably beyond categorisation. Sometimes, you just have to acknowledge when you are in the presence of something special or even a genius piece of work and this post-country/rock/blues/Rockabilly album is something totally special and unexpected. The 450s has a sound and feel as if Johnny Cash, Mick Jagger and Danny Kiranos aka Amigo The Devil were locked in a room and not allowed out until they had written twelve tracks of pure gold and that is exactly what we have here.

The musicians behind the band are Rhett on vocals, James Jacobs on guitar, Robert Jacobs on bass, Carl Canedy on drums with Ryan Sambrook on keyboards and, collectively, they have created a fine rock and roll album that really could have been written and recorded any time in the last fifty-years. For me, the closest musical comparison would possibly be The Traveling Wilburys and even then that does not come close to what these extraordinary guys have produced here. The vocals of Rett are off the scale and he reminds me very much of Kirk Brandon of Spear Of Destiny fame, surely one of the greatest rock bands ever to come out of the UK, and it is the special, haunting and angst filled voice of Rett that gives the band such a unique and delicious sound.

The album is a dark and despairing trawl through the sewer of life and the morass of despair that can drag your soul directly to hell but the sheer pristine beauty and clarity of the songs and simply awesome presentation offers deliverance and resurrection. Life can be dark and unyielding but there is always hope in the light and The 450s have created a work that is monumental and an album that will remain as valid and essential as long as there is human life in the Universe. There is a real fragile beauty here and you are immediately drawn into the dark, foreboding world of The 450s and their downbeat and despairing tones really do make for heartfelt music and music should and must be capable of making you feel emotionally involved in the world that the musicians have conjured up for you.

If you are a fan of the American recordings that the legendary Johnny Cash produced towards the end of his life then you are going to fall in love with this new and heart stopping album by The 450s, musical simply does not get better that this.

The 450s

  1. Flowers For Columbine (3:35)
  2. Black Tar (3:19)
  3. Lucy Walk Away (4:29)
  4. Lust And Denial (4:03)
  5. Gracie Is It Heavy (4:34)
  6. Drown (3:46)
  7. One King (4:30)
  8. Lost Girl Confused (3:20)
  9. Crawl (2:55)
  10. She’s My Morphine (3:12)
  11. The Suspect (3:17)
  12. When God Won’t Forgive You (4:01)