May 17, 2021

The Florida-based melodic death metal quartet THE ABSENCE have unveiled a music video for the title track from their forthcoming album Coffinized. The clip – which premiered on Twitch through bassist Mike Leon’s channel can be viewed below and the song itself is available now for streaming and download at all digital music outlets.

Coffinized is the second preview track from THE ABSENCE‘s upcoming album of the same name, which will be released June 25 by M-Theory Audio.

Says vocalist Jamie Stewart, “We have all been ‘Coffinized’ at one point or another – trapped in a distant, funerary bubble, obscured under a dark, brooding outlook. As one lingers for a collective exhale, it calls out – a seeping, miserable existence disguised. Such horrors hidden by means of mental escape. But being engulfed by your own disgust and inability can be suffocating: it collapses in, embalming into your being. You become a living casket for all of your own bitter frustrations – nailed in and buried alive.”

Coffinized is THE ABSENCE‘s follow-up to their 2018 comeback record, A Gift For The Obsessed. That album was the band’s first in eight years, as well as their first for new label home M-Theory Audio. The time period between that album’s release and the COVID outbreak saw the band stay busy by taking their new songs to the road, touring alongside acts such as Deicide, Origin, Jungle Rot, Exmortus and Hatchet. The group’s members also stayed busy with outside endeavours, with drummer Jeramie Kling manning the kit for Venom Inc., bassist Mike Leon gigging with Soulfly and Cavalera Conspiracy and guitarist Taylor Nordberg playing with Massacre, in addition to multiple quarantine collaborations and side-projects. Those three band members took the experiences from their touring gigs and reconvened in the studio with Stewart – who has also been busy with his other project, Hot Graves — to put together the 11 tracks of pummelling death metal that compose Coffinized.

Coffinized was produced and engineered by Kling and Nordberg and mixed by Kling. The album was mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Overkill, Scar) at Sweden’s Black Lounge Studios.

Coffinized track list

  1. Coffinized
  2. Future Terminal
  3. Choirs Of Sickness
  4. Radiant Devestation
  5. Cathedral Dawn
  6. Black Providence
  7. Discordia
  8. Treacherous
  9. This Consuming Nocturne
  10. Aperture Expands
  11. Faith in Uncreation

THE ABSENCE first burst onto the scene in 2005 with their crushing, Erik Rutan-produced Metal Blade debut From Your Grave. That album and its two follow-ups, 2007’s Riders Of The Plague and 2010’s Enemy Unbound, showcased a perfect mixture of heart-wrenching melodies and skull-pounding aggression, truly making them one of the premiere bands of the melodic death metal scene. THE ABSENCE further cemented their reputation via numerous tours supporting some of the biggest names in metal, including Cannibal Corpse, The Black Dahlia Murder, Amon Amarth, Sabaton, Goatwhore, Evergrey, Malevolent Creation, Kataklysm and Destruction. Following a lengthy hiatus, the band regrouped in 2016 with a new line-up uniting founding members Stewart and Kling with long time bassist Leon and guitarists Nordberg and Joey Concepcion for A Gift For The Obsessed. (Concepcion appears on four tracks on Coffinized.)

Jamie Stewart (vocals)
Jeramie Kling (drums)
Mike Leon (bass)
Taylor Nordberg (guitars)