July 13, 2023
Photo: Cahntrik Photography

Dark singer-songwriter act THE DEVIL’S TRADE is now streaming the upcoming album Vidékek vannak idebenn in advance of the release date! The new album will be released on July 14, 2023 via Season of Mist, but can be enjoyed now in full.

Dávid Makó comments: “This album has given me so much hardship, confirmation, lessons and joy from the first moment I started to work on it even when it was still a secret. And now it is out to live on its own. I hope you will enjoy it!”

For Vid​é​kek vannak idebennMakó leaned heavier on electronic textures. You could hear the added impact on the album’s first single, which is shrouded in synths that shift like smoke over a mountain. But he also brought in his old friend and former bandmate  Gáspár Binder, whose dark and stormy drumming sets off the clanging explosions of the title track.  

THE DEVIL’S TRADE recently announced a new European tour, supporting the legendary ALCEST. A full list of tour dates can be found down below.

The Devil’s Trade EU tour


  • 29 Sep 23 Metz (FR) La Bam
    30 Sep 23 Bruges (BE) Cactus Club
    01 Oct 23 Hamburg (DE) Knust
    03 Oct 23 Copenhagen (DK) Lille Vega
    04 Oct 23 Oslo (NO) Parkteatret
    05 Oct 23 Stockholm (SE) Fryshuset Klubben
    07 Oct 23 Dresden (DE) Stromwerk
    08 Oct 23 Poznan (PL) 2Progi
    09 Oct 23 Wroclaw (PL) Stary Klasztor
    10 Oct 23 Hannover (DE) Musikzentrum
    11 Oct 23 Frankfurt (DE) Zoom
    13 Oct 23 Nijmegen (NL) Soulcrusher
    14 Oct 23 Lille (FR) L’aeronef
    15 Oct 23 Manchester (UK) Academy 2
    16 Oct 23 Bristol (UK) SWX
    17 Oct 23 Brighton (UK) Concorde 2
    19 Oct 23 Vauréal (FR) Le Forum
    20 Oct 23 St. Nazaire (FR) Le Vip
    21 Oct 23 Rouen (FR) Le 106
    22 Oct 23 Savigny-le-temple (FR) L’empreinte

Vid​é​kek vannak idebenn

  1. Én felkelék (3:17)
  2. Flashing Through the Lack of Light (6:28) [WATCH]
  3. Vidékek vannak idebenn (8:19) [LISTEN]
  4. Clear Like the Wind (5:36) [WATCH]
  5. Liminal (6:42)
  6. Fordulj kedves lovam (6:27)
  7. All Kings Must Fall (3:30)
  8. Új hajnal már nem jő (4:44)


“occupying a position at, or on both sides of, a boundary or threshold.”

“I was in the liminal space between past and present”

It is of no surprise liminal space is a key element in the next phase of The Devil’s Trade‘s fourth album, Vidékek vannak idebenn (a title that loosely translates to ‘There Are Landscapes Within’) as Dávid Makó, the man behind the moniker has indeed arrived to a threshold in his career, where the phase starting with his self-released debut Those Miles We Walked Alone ended after his latest album The Call of the Iron Peak. The concept of liminal space itself is a not necessarily pleasant state of mind where you left behind your old life, but new doors haven’t exactly opened just yet. 

As Makó states ‘The process my first three records pieced together ended, that was no path for me to take anymore, but to take a step forward I had to make decisions I wasn’t inspired enough to make.’ – and from this frustrated, sort of paralyzed state of floating, a new incarnation of The Devil’s Trade was born and so was Vidékek vannak idebenn along with it.

While still true to his solo artist roots, delivering gut-wrenching melodies of darkness and beauty on his own, Makó needed an expansion to his universe. With the addition of long-time friend and former bandmate Gáspár Binder on drums and a live keyboard player, he finally took the much needed step forward and Vidékek vannak idebenn portrays the next sonic phase of The Devil’s Trade.

A soundtrack to the next phase of his life. A soundtrack to souls stuck in liminal space, hungry to adapt to new realities and to grow further, outside the boundaries which so often shackle them.

Recording line-up:
Dávid Makó: vocals, guitars, keyboards, banjo
Gáspár Binder: drums

Dávid Makó: vocals, guitars, banjo
Gáspár Binder: drums
Gábor Tóth: keyboard


The Devil’s Trade linkt.ree