July 13, 2021

The Vendettas is a rock and roll band from Melbourne, Australia with this latest album, quite obviously, being the third to date in the band’s 10 year history. They are a group new to me but they have that typical raw energy that all Australian outfits seem to have. The band appears to have one intention only and that is that they are going to rock out and have a great time whilst doing it and you are all invited to the party but whether you are on-board or not they still intend to party big time so bring a bottle and join in!

The Vendettas play big rock and roll of the type best seen in the Rolling Stones and The Black Crowes but they have added the typical Australian grit and vitality to the proceeding so add a touch of Jimmy Barnes and Rose Tattoo for added realism. They specialise in guitar driven rock with a touch of boogie so they soon have you up on your feet with beer in hand swinging to the infectious beat that the band pumps out. Steve Redden is a delight on vocals and is surely a name to watch out for with Jared Mattern being mercurial on guitar and a serious rival to Johnny Marr with James Rogers and Rick Van Der Meer being a hard working and very much up-beat team on bass and drums respectively. They fuse everything with a touch of back street blues that adds a gravitas to the music and elevates the group far beyond good time band status to serious musicians who also enjoy letting their hair down. There is more than a hint of the 60’s Blues explosion that conquered the world in this record and this makes the album a bona fide rock release that anyone would be pleased to have in their catalogue as it has warmth and immediacy that makes it such a delight to pick up and play.

From Melbourne to Manchester, these boys have what it takes to win fans over and whether listening at home or seeing them live in a smoke filled, booze infused down town bar then they will truly blow your socks off. For added vibrancy and eclectic feel, the music was recorded live in the studio so what you see and hear is genuine and representative of a band in full flow and belting out cracking R’n’B rock that is pure, totally timeless gold.

The Vendettas III track list

  1. Face To Face (5:11)
  2. Slinging Mud (3:50)
  3. Believe You Now (3:23)
  4. Guardians (4:14)
  5. Sold You Out (5:24)
  6. Only The Wicked (3:47)
  7. Stoned Ape (4:18)
  8. Dang Bird (3:35)
  9. High As A Jet (7:51)
  10. Rats On A Wheel (3:10)
  11. Flesh And Bone (Bonus Digital Track) (4:17)
  12. What Have You Done (7:24)