October 5, 2020

In the main, hard and heavy rock has been almost exclusively the domain of the alpha male; this type of testosterone rock has always been loud, brash and, well, heavy and more often than not with larger than life singers and guitarists with nihilistic tendencies. It is also fair to say that there has been many talented female bands with equally impressive hard rock credentials and capable of rocking with the best of them but, as with so many other factors in our society, the standards set for women are so much higher than for men. Of course it is wrong and slowly it is changing but there is still a long way to go. I remember when the Runaways were breaking in the mid-’70s and the press seemed to concentrate on what they were wearing and how pretty they were whereas the music they were making was incidental. It is so good to see how Joan Jett and Lita Ford, to name but two, went on to prove just how good they are as musicians.

If you are one of those people who ignore rock bands because they are female led or all female then you are missing out on some exceptionally good music and Thundermother is a seriously good hard rock band, forget the gender and simply concentrate on the music. The band was formed in 2010 when guitarist Filippa Nässil moved to Stockholm where she met fellow guitarist Giorgia Carteri and they recruited Tilda Stenqvist (drums), Linda Ström (bass) and singer Clare Cunningham to complete the band. The debut was an impressive affair built on ’70s rock and an amalgam of the styles of AC/DC, Girlschool, the glorious Suzi Quatro and was a real rocking affair. Heat Wave is now the band’s fourth album and each release has show major development and an intensity that is staggering. There have been major personnel changes too with only Nässil remaining from the original set up but she has recruited extraordinarily well and has struck gold in vocalist Guernica Mancini as she has such a blues infused powerful, driving voice that truly amazes. Emlee Johannson now occupies the drumming position with Majsan Lindberg on bass and what a team they make with their all conquering and high energy playing. Over this Filippa Nässil lays down huge and all encompassing riffs and searing lead breaks. The ballads seem to have taken a back seat as the band have cranked up the power on this album to deliver a strutting and hard hitting rock that is, perhaps, even more AC/DC that AC/DC is! This is no simple girl vocal/dance troupe that seems to be so much the standard these days but a true hard rocking band that has a style born back in the uncomplicated rock ‘n’ roll days of the ’70s but given a modern day make over to be so fresh and of the times.

If the Rolling Stones, Motörhead and AC/DC had ever had an inclination to jam then this is very probably what it would have sounded like. Make no mistake, this band rocks big style!

Heat Wave track list

  1. Loud And Alive (3:56)
  2. Dog From Hell (3:38)
  3. Back In ’76 (3:34)
  4. Into The Mud (3:15)
  5. Heat Wave (3:56)
  6. Sleep (3:57)
  7. Driving In Style (3:44)
  8.  Free Ourselves (3:52)
  9. Mexico (3:39)
  10. Purple Sky (4:48)
  11. Ghosts (3:46)
  12. Somebody Love Me (3:44)
  13. Bad Habits (3:36)