January 18, 2024

I’m guessing that this record will rather surprise some people as the name Tommy Stinson is probably better known in the heavier rock arena having been an original member of The Replacements as well as spells with Guns N’ Roses and Soul Asylum amongst many others. Appearances with the likes of Puff Daddy have shown that Stinson is one heck of a versatile singer and guitarist and his latest release will surely extend his credibility and credentials as a bona fide American musical legend.

Photo: Vivian Wang

Stinson has now joined forces with fellow American Chip Roberts with Wronger being the first record to be put out by the new dynamic pairing and it is a real slab of Americana roots building on the whole history of the darker edged folk music that encompasses everything that the one and only Johnny Cash experimented with plus artists including Dylan, Willie Nelson, Lyle Lovett and even newer luminaries such as Amigo The Devil.

Wronger a short album with just the 10-tracks for 30-minutes of music but it is very much a case of quality rather than quantity as Roberts and Stinson plus a host of guests lay down compelling music that alternates between bitter and sweet as they tell their tales of American life that is as far as you can get from the glitzy Hollywood lifestyle shown on TV.

If you are partial to a little bit of folk and country with a leaning towards the darker side then give this a whirl and spare an appreciative moment for a team of real musicians.


  1. Here We Go Again
  2. That’s It
  3. Mr. Wrong
  4. Schemes
  5. Fall Apart Together
  6. Hey Man
  7. We Ain’t
  8. Karma’s Bitch
  9. Souls
  10. Dream