June 10, 2021

Music always has the power to surprise! I was listening to this album and everything about it screams good time, old school rock and roll from the American mid-west calling to mind long, straight highways, road trips, all things denim and Jack Daniels. Then you read the publicity and see that the band comes Northern Ireland and it is shock all round. Quite obviously, they are not a band I know with Tail End Of A Hurricane being album number five for this hard rocking unit and is another of the many records now produced during the COVID pandemic which has, obviously, affected/inspired many of the songs and their incisive and sharp lyrics.

To be truthful, the bands southern swagger gives them a feel and sound of Black Stone Cherry which is no bad thing and shows the intensity and skill which they deliver the thirteen tracks of high quality, pulsating rock on the album. The musicians involved are Tom Harte on vocals/lead guitar, Simon Haddock on guitar, Jim McGurk on bass and Terry Crawford on drums with most of them singing backing vocals too so there is a great vocal harmony about the album plus plenty of thrilling and intense guitars. They seem to have mastered the art of matching stadium rock standards with a close and personal delivery which means that they sound as though they would be equally as barnstorming on a stage in front of 60,000 as they would be in a small and sweaty club with just 100 in; this band only knows how to play one way and that is to give 100% and then some extra on top! The vocals are very pleasing and delivered with class and precision and the two guitars work fabulously together providing hard hitting riffs and soaring solos that will have you joining in on your air guitar.

Do not expect complicated time signatures or over complex songwriting as this is straight forward, thrilling rock and roll of the type that is beloved around the world and Trucker Diablo are experts at delivering it. This is one of those quality albums that draws you into the band’s little world and you become as one with them, play the album with friends and I guarantee they will demand to know who the band is and where you got the album from. Some music is solitary and reflective but this is music to be shared and enjoyed with friends and beers aplenty. If it makes to want to drive across the States then that is your business!

Tail End Of The Hurricane track list

  1. BTKOR (4:07)
  2. I Am Still Alive (3:49)
  3. Rock Kids Of The ’80s (3:50)
  4. Don’t Hold On To Hate (5:06)
  5. Set The Night On Fire (4:07)
  6. Tail End Of A Hurricane (4:11)
  7. Insects (4:44)
  8. The Edge Of Tonight (3:32)
  9. The Trade (3:52)
  10. This Burning Heart (4:35)
  11. Woodstock To Vietnam (3:34)
  12. Slow Dance (2:53)
  13. Bury The Ocean (5:37)