January 18, 2021

Turbulence are a progressive rock/metal band hailing from Lebanon and have emerged from their local scene ready to compete on the world stage with Frontal, the group’s second album and a concept record that showcases their ability to combine compelling musical storytelling with modern sounds and production.

Turbulence was founded in 2013 by guitarist Alain Ibrahim and keyboard player Mood Yassin, with Omar El Hage (vocals), Sayed Gereige (drums) and Anthony Atwe (bass) rounding out their line-up. The group began when Yassin sent Ibrahim an excerpt of a song that piqued his interest, after which their subsequent meeting seemed like an inevitable event. Recognised as two of the most skillful and proficient musicians in their country, they have teamed up with the other musicians to complete their shared vision of bringing their unique style of progressive music from the Middle East to the world.

The band state: “Frontal is our first release with Frontiers and it incorporates compelling musical storytelling with a modern sound that fuses a bit of everything; from rhythmic illusions, polyrhythms, sombre melodies, a melting pot of crunching synths, soaring vocals, complex drumming and a never ending stream of riff carnage, it fuses jazz virtuosity with prog metal tension all the way through to ambient soundscapes and textures layered with memorable and heart-piercing clean vocals. It is an emotional roller coaster of a journey filled with surprises and details on every corner.”

The first single from the album, Madness Unforeseen, sets the mood for the full record to follow. Aggressive and moody, it is carried by soaring vocals over a catchy chorus. Dark themes of madness haunt the lyrics, while banging riffery drives the music. “It is the perfect appetiser for the album,” add the band.

Turbulence will be a stunning revelation for all lovers of prog metal. Make a date for the full Frontal on 12th March 2021.

Frontal track list

  1. Inside The Gage
  2. Madness Unforeseen
  3. Dreamless
  4. Ignite
  5. A Place I Go To Hide
  6. Crowbar Case
  7. Faceless Man
  8. Perpetuity

Omar El Hage – vocals
Alain Ibrahim – guitars
Mood Yassin – keyboards
Sayed Gereige – drums
Anthony Atwe – bass