August 19, 2022

Ty Morn is a UK band project that was put together in 2018 by the musician and songwriter Aron Biale with the debut, Istor, coming out in 2019 and this immediately marked this superior heavy rock outfit as one to keep a close watch on. If you missed out on Istor then you are highly recommended to check it out as it is a quite brilliant, anthemic heavy metal album and so utterly magnificent especially given that it was the band’s first release. Biale, again, has written and composed all of the tracks as well as supplying bass, rhythm guitar and keyboards to the new record. The Brazilian singer Raphael Gazal (Bulletback, Leviathan) returns and his stunning vocals, which are a seamless mixing of Bruce Dickinson and Ronnie James Dio give the musical a gravitas and grandeur and he is another frontman surely destined for greatness. Also returning is the drummer Per Mikkelsen which means that three of the musicians from the debut remain with the band which helps to give a real stability to the unit and the music itself.

Istor featured guitar from no less than seven musicians including Raphael Gazal but this time around Beale has kept it to a more manageable two axemen with Joao Corceiro on lead guitar with Martin Szorad on additional guitar and, oh boy, can these two rock in true Michael Schenker style. Aron Biale’s musical influences all seem to have been soaked up in the ’70s and ’80s and his music is a wonderful tribute to ground breaking acts like Judas Priest, Iron Maiden and Mercyful Fate and just about every other twin guitar metal bands you can think of! Add a touch of Firewind and Dragonforce and you have just about the perfect heavy metal band for the modern age! Biale’s speciality is anthemic, fantasy themed metal with each song telling its own story with Last Villain Testament being something of a concept piece based around a character called The Warlock who is the last villain in some dystopian future world with the work being, effectively, his last testament as he looks back on a world ruined by mankind, sounds familiar?

If you are looking for something ‘new’ in traditional metal with an outstanding vocalist, intelligent and hook laden metal songs and twin guitars to die for then everything you desire is here simply waiting for you, utterly compelling and designed for all air guitarists.

Last Villain Testament

  1. War Of The Nations (4:52)
  2. Hellastryke (4:15)
  3. Eyes Of The Many Gods (4:54)
  4. Wherever Demons Roam (4:48)
  5. Come, Feed Us Night (3:50)
  6. Firenado (4:54)
  7. Compliments Of The Wolf (4:16)
  8. The One (5:20)
  9. Lifting The Curse (4:07)
  10. Warlock (4:54)