October 4, 2020

Tytus is a New Wave Of Traditional Heavy Metal band (NWOTHM) band out of Italy which formed in 2014 and this is their second album following the debut, Rise, which came out in 2016. To be fair, you only have to state that they are NWOTHM which is the modern take of the glorious NWOBHM (if I have to spell out what this stands for then you really should not be reading this) to know everything that you need to know about the band.

Obviously influenced by the back to basics rock movement in Britain in the late ’70s and early ’80s, the band delivers another marvellous take on this all action rock genre that is full of furious drums and bass with huge, towering riffs, killer lead breaks and with a vocalist full of power, might and pomp. All the right ingredients are here then with influences from Iron Maiden, Tokyo Blade, Diamond Head and the Tygers Of Pan Tang and the frenetic thrash of early Metallica and Megadeth all combined into a glorious whole of epic dimensions. There is nothing overly complicated here, just voice, bass, drums and guitar and lot’s of it played to the max. Loud, incessant and direct Rain After Drought delivers a monumental hard rock rush that leaves you sated but wanting more. This album was originally released in 2019 but has been re-released again which gives those of us who missed it first time round time to make amends. Ilija Riffmeister is the impressive vocalist and he sings in clear and well delivered English and he and Mark Simon Hell both play lead guitar with Markey Moon on bass with Frank Bardy on drums. I suspect that Tytus is another band in which the musicians do not use their real names! The songs are perfectly crafted and very guitar heavy as Ilija Riffmeister and Mark Simon Hell frantically trade lick for lick and they do this imperiously. One of the great factors in NWOBHM bands was that they stripped away the pretention and took the music back to the basics and then added the energy and anger of punk to create music that was elemental in its fury and delivery.

No trickery, no sleight of hand just instruments, power leads and a bank of amps to crank out music that burned into your brain. If you need an immediate adrenalin rush from a band designed to blow out your windows then you have to check out Tytus, strap yourself in, crank up the volume and revel in musical Armageddon. You know it make sense.

Rain After Drought track list

  1. Disobey (4:32)
  2. The Invisible (4:04)
  3. The Storm That Kill Us All (3:56)
  4. Our Time Is Now (4:50)
  5. The Dark wave (4:34)
  6. Death Throes (5:02)
  7.  Rain After Drought pt. 1 (6:48)
  8. Rain After Drought pt. 2 (4:54)
  9. Move On Over (3:43)
  10. A Desolate Shell Of A Man (3:28)