April 11, 2021

Prominent Ukrainian power metal act SUNRISE has recently revealed details of the 4th full-length album, coming on May 18th under the name of Equilibria.

This time band, mostly known for the sound highly valued by the fans of Sonata Arctica and Stratovarius, promises far more than its classical musical approach. Thus, 13 songs of Equilibria will be a mix of classic power metal, symphonic, epic, modern and progressive metal with some experimental touches, such as traditional Ukrainian instrument bandura.

After three full-length releases, valued among the genre’s fans (Liberty 2007, Trust Your Soul 2009, Absolute Clarity 2016) Equilibria shows the new level in approach to make arrangements and the sound.

The first single from the album, The Bridge Across Infinity, was released in 2020. It is based on Richard Bach‘s novel and is one of the songs, which is experimental for the band and represents the progressive part of the album. At the same time, SUNRISE promises that it was “just a first spark from the flame of the future release”, and for the Equilibria they have prepared a lot of surprises and interesting music points.

One of the changes in comparison with the previous SUNRISE albums is that the Equilibria will have more place for female vocals: the voice of the keyboardist and backing vocalist Daria Naumenko this time will receive more space and will come to the fore in a number of songs as lead vocals next to the as always mighty vocals of Konstantin ‘Laars’ Naumenko. The work of four lead guitarists on Equilibria, each of whom brought their own ideas and even songs into it, makes the album even more diverse.

Equilibria is a kind of international work: Slovak vocalist Mayo Petranin, a member of Symphonity and Castaway bands, became a guest on one of the songs, and Polish friends of SUNRISE joined the band to write the lyrics for the new album.

To release a new album SUNRISE has launched a crowdfunding campaign on the band’s website, where the fans can support the release by pre-ordering it or buying merch. Previously the band has already had two successful crowdfunding stories – with the release of the Absolute Clarity album in 2016 and the re-release of the Trust Your Soul album in 2019.

Equilibria track list

  1. Wings Of The Dreamer
  2. Equilibrium
  3. We Are The Fire
  4. Wild Swans
  5. Call My Name
  6. Unbroken Dreams
  7. Life Is A Journey (feat. Mayo Petranin)
  8. The Only Reason
  9. The Bridge Across Infinity
  10. The Shadow
  11. The Bell​
  12. Nightingale
  13. Rebel Yell