June 17, 2021

And now for something a little different. Upper Lip is a sleaze/bump ‘n’ grind rock and roll band from the wonderfully named Gozo which is an island in the Maltese archipelago islands and also known as the land of the Megalithic Temples and a quick look on the internet shows what can only be described as paradise.

The band formed in 2011 and this is their mighty fine and impressive debut album and it is a straight forward romp through rock and roll with added elements of glam and sleaze for good measure. The first band that comes to mind is Aerosmith and this is because vocalist Chris Portelli has a sound of Steven Tyler and lead guitarist Joseph Azzopardi riffs just like Joe Perry. They also have a touch of Poison, Motley Crüe and Skid Row about their sound too which makes them a very interesting proposition and they have all of the necessary skills to deliver a rock album of some importance. The band is completed by Marcel Paul Grima on bass, Paul Cini on rhythm guitar and Silvio Cini on drums and what a tight unit they make.

The songs are short, sharp and direct with main songwriter Azzopardi proving most adept at writing hook laden rock songs built on a melodic approach with a real groove that puts a huge grin upon your face. This is music to share with friends and is another of those albums that the air guitar is an obligatory instrument. No need to feel self-conscious as everyone else will also be wielding their favourite air axe too! The whole sound and even the album cover screams America and these boys have got the style, panache and swagger to carry off this good time rock with aplomb.

If you are looking for great fun rock with an essential groove then look no further. The vocals are wonderful and Joseph Azzopardi plays some solos that will have your jaw dropping in open mouthed admirations, great fun.

Deep Within track list

  1. Keep Going (3:03)
  2. Marble Arch (3:45)
  3. Skinny Jeans (3:02)
  4. Eyes On Fire (2:51)
  5. What Makes You Smile (4:33)
  6. Deep Within (1:16)
  7. Mirrors & Masks (3:21)
  8. Hide (3:32)
  9. Be Free (5:02)
  10. Desert Song (3:37)
  11. Never Lose Hope (6:01)