December 19, 2022

Uriah Heep and BMG continue to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the formation of British hard rock legends Uriah Heep with the Official Picture Disc LP releases of Sweet Freedom and Return to Fantasy on 20th January.

Both albums will be made available on picture disc for the first time ever and are contained within a series of limited edition heavyweight collector picture discs releases from the Uriah Heep catalogue. The artwork for each picture disc has been meticulously worked on, retouching the original art and creating a true visual feast.

Originally released in September 1973 Uriah Heep’s sixth studio album Sweet Freedom reached number 18 in the UK charts. Containing the original audio recorded in Château d’Hérouville, this new pressing of Sweet Freedom contains the hits Stealin’, Sweet Freedom and more.

Return to Fantasy, released in June 1975, was the eighth studio album from Uriah Heep, and their first since the departure of bassist Gary Thain; this pressing of the album contains the hits Return to Fantasy, Your Turn to Remember and features the original audio recorded in Lansdowne and Morgan Studios

Uriah Heep are arguably one of the ‘big four’ rock bands, along with Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath, and certainly one of the most intriguing bands both musically and lyrically, to emerge from heavy rock. Evoking an era when prog, hard rock and heavy metal co-existed in an era of glorious, boundary-breaking music, Uriah Heep rose from inexperienced studio musicians with everything to prove to bona fide limo inhabiting rock stars. 

After selling over 40 million albums worldwide, over the years Uriah Heep have influenced many different metal bands around the globe, among the most popular being Dio. Bands including A-ha, King Diamond, Krokus, Demons & Wizards, Fifth Angel and Axel Rudi Pell have all cited Uriah Heep as a band of personal influence, while W.A.S.P, Tesla and Blackmore’s Night have all covered the band’s songs.

Sweet Freedom tracklist


  1. Dreamer
  2. Stealin’
  3. One Day
  4. Sweet Freedom 


  1. If I Had the Time
  2. Seven Stars
  3. Circus
  4. Pilgrim


Barcode: 4050538689839

Return to Fantasy tracklist 


  1. Return To Fantasy
  2. Shady Lady
  3. Devil’s Daughter
  4. Beautiful Dream


  1. Prima Donna
  2. Your Turn to Remember
  3. Showdown
  4. Why Did You Go
  5. A Year or a Day


Barcode: 4050538689853