March 20, 2022

The curiously titled V-Hajd is a traditional heavy metal band from Germany which is very much inspired by the likes of Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Scorpions and Accept and they have used them all as a formula to construct their own version of old-school hard rock. The band was formed in 2014 by Harry Wilkens, formerly of the German speed metal band Destruction, with No Man’s Land being its independently released debut with what looks to be a digital platform release only.

The group all come from that rather odd triangle of land in Europe where the borders of Germany, France and Switzerland all meet (Dreiländereck just outside Basel and is promoted as ‘see three countries in 10 minutes). Because of this, the band plays what it calls ‘borderless metal’ so nationality issues are kept to a minimum other than the fact that they produce no-nonsense Germanic metal!

They line-up with Derek Rock on vocals, Harry Wilkens on lead guitar, Jörn Wilkens on rhythm guitar, Alex Scherz on bass and Dirk Heidenreich on drums and all have the look and sound of real hard rock veterans. Derek Rock has a powerful voice which reminds of Klaus Meine with Harry Wilkens signature guitar tones being the real driving force behind the band. So you can expect soaring and high pitched vocals set to huge riffs and some truly stellar lead guitar breaks that truly thrill. The band has incorporated a little modern metal into their mix so you can detect influences of bands like Threshold too which helps to make No Man’s Land a thrilling heavy metal roller coaster with not a hint of a power ballad to be seen.

The album came out at the end of 2021 and perfectly showcases a raw and aggressive band with the ability to write and deliver powerful and hard hitting metal with great vocals and stunning guitar. There are a few rough edges but these only add to the charm of a band that is obviously having a great time and delivering a very listenable hard rocking album at the same time.

No Man’s Land

  1. No Man’s Land (5:50)
  2. Good Luck In Hell (3:49)
  3. Gods Of The Nile (5:02)
  4. Hedonist (4:28)
  5. Freak Asylum (3:39)
  6. Hag Riding (4:44)
  7. Cannibal Greed (4:19)
  8. Mockery (4:33)
  9. Borderless Metal (5:22)
  10. Endless Horizon (4:32)
  11. Le Misanthrope (4:27)