November 30, 2020



Vambo’s swaggering and powerful self-titled debut recently received the deluxe treatment when it was re-released on Friday 6 November as “Vambo Deluxe” featuring five bonus tracks. The album, released by Goliath Records is available HERE.

The second single “We’re Not The Same” is released on Friday 4 December and is available to pre-save HERE

We’re Not The Same is my favourite track from the Deluxe album,” says Vambo’s frontman Jack Stiles. “It’s a unique song, quite different from the other tracks melodically. The riff’s dark. There are some heavy parts which we like to take advantage of live. When Pete sent me the basic riff and verse pattern, I was working on a vocal idea where the octave line and the harmony line would marry seamlessly as one, constructed to be a ‘block’ with no discernible lead vocal line. When the music and melody came together, we got something quite special. The lyrics represent that sharing the same traits as someone on the surface does not make you the same person.”

The five bonus tracks include “Paradise“, “Mistaken Identity,” “Total Jeopardy,” “Dancing with the Devil (Acoustic)” and a live recording of the Deep Purple classic “Burn.”
With the addition of their four scintillating new tracks and an exuberant and relentless rendition of one of rock’s great classics, their imaginative artistic style is entirely and unmistakably in the present. Their ability to travel from mighty Purple-esq power to the sheer beauty of an acoustic version of ”Dancing with the Devil” – one of their own power ballads, is outstanding. Vambo have a style and quality that keeps us guessing as to what they’ll come up with next. From this offering, it’s plainly evident that they live without fear in their musical outlook, never shying away from the challenge, providing us with an array of surprises which is both unexpected and refreshing.

Vambo were recently featured in Classic Rock Magazine in their High Hopes spread. The debut album is steeped in sharp musical intelligence and finds the band in full creative tilt delivering hard-hitting, re-tooled classic rock with a contemporary edge. 

Vambo are no strangers to the live circuit.  They played Download Festival and Isle of White Festival in 2019, and they will be touring the UK with Praying Mantis and Cats in Space in 2021. 

The album is produced and mastered by Ray Stiles (MUD, The Hollies), and perfectly encapsulates Vambo’s live energy and relentless drive. 

Jack Stiles (vocals); Pete Lance (guitar); James Scott (bass); Steve Price (drums)

This musically diverse album features wonderfully crafted songs full of rock ‘n’ roll attitude. It kicks off with the band’s debut single – “Now You See Me”, which sets the tone for the whole album. The album includes the Planet Rock radio playlisted singles – “Why Why Why”, an explosion of anthemic goodness, and World of Misery, which will entice the listener from the very first hearing. 

“We take our inspiration from early 70s hard rock, but we keep our interpretation contemporary – inspired but not copied,” says the bands frontman and lead singer, Jack Stiles. “We are very big on melody and dynamic, not just shredding guitar solos and ‘check out how fast I can play the drums’. We aren’t that political, our lyrics aren’t super deep and metaphorical, but we can rock as good as anybody. No song on this album is the same… that would be boring.”

Blurring the line between sincerity and audacity, the album bristles with conviction and power ballad Running in Circles is a rock anthem in the waiting. Every one of these songs is a master class in how to write melodies that pull at the heartstrings, without compromising their balls-out instincts. Combined with Pete Lance’s fearsomely virtuosic metallic riffing, the solid pile driving rhythm section of James Scott (bass) and Steve Price (drums), and Jack Stiles’ versatile, soulful voice, ensures that Vambo Deluxe is a colossal and essential album.

Vambo are not your run-of-the-mill generic rock band. They believe their songs have commercial value, but at the same time, they don’t take themselves too seriously. The band admit there are a lot of good players out there right now, but they do not want to sound like everyone else; they want to sound like Vambo.

“We want every song on our album to be different, to keep the listener interested, so they don’t quite know what’s round the corner,” concludes Jack.

1. Now You See Me – 3:41
2. Why Why Why – 3:22
3. Cry Woman – 3:46
4. We’re Not the Same – 3:41
5. Dancing with the Devil – 4:00
6. World of Misery – 3:54
7. Down Little Mama – 3:22
8. Running in Circles – 4:46
9. Camouflage – 3:01
10. Vambo Roolz – 3:53
11. Fast Car – 3:06

12. Paradise – 3:54
13. Mistaken Identity – 4:06
14. Total Jeopardy – 4:10
15. Dancing with the Devil (Acoustic) – 3:44
16. Burn (Live) – 6:16