December 12, 2021

Vandallus is a hard rock band from Cleveland, Ohio which formed in 2015 and the guys in the band have been rather prolific as this is already album number four despite there being a couple of changes in the band. They started out in 2015 as a trio with Shaun Vanek on guitars, drums and bass, Jason Vanek on vocals and guitar and Steve Dukuslow and this is the team that brought us On The High Side in 2016. This was quickly followed up in 2018 by Bad Disease which saw Tim Frederick coming in on bass and Tyler J Harvey on guitar swelling the band to a 5-piece. The album Outbreak then came out in 2019 with Vic Stown replacing Harvey on guitar and, from what I can make out, Jason Vanek becoming CrazyV and Tim Frederick also getting in on the name changing act and becoming Tim-Ay. It’s all very confusing and the publicity relating to this album is non-existent and it’s not much better on the band’s Facebook page!

Now we come to the fourth album and Vandallus, taking a leaf out of Foreigner’s book, have simply entitled it 4. Again, there has been a change with long time drummer Dukuslow leaving the band and Tim –Ay has reverted to being called Frederick again so it is damned difficult keeping up with who is actually in the band! Anyway, 4 finds the band playing some pretty neat and slick 1980’s hard rock and there is now a lot more melody on display. I have only previously heard the Bad Disease album which is a great rock album but 4 see the band in smoother more melodic rock territory. CrazyV is pleasing on vocals and his guitar work along with that of Vanek is exemplary and they throw out some pretty wicked and intoxicating solos. Well written and executed songs show that there guys know how to write a pretty perfect 4-minute power rock song and they all have to musical skills to carry it all off with aplomb.

This is exactly the sort of album I would have expected Hall and Oates to have made if they had decided to make a heavy metal album and I mean that as a great compliment as it features great harmonies and superb musicianship. Vandallus will not change the world but they are putting out some damned good albums to show that they are a band to be reckoned with, give the album a listen as it is great fun, has some wonderful guitar work and is pretty easy listening too.


  1. Short Fuse Groove (2:49)
  2. Brainwashed (4:16)
  3. Motor High City (4:16)
  4. Livin For The Season (3:20)
  5. Radio Love Train (4:07)
  6. Parasite (3:29)
  7. Drowning (3:49)
  8. Nobody’s Safe (4:38)
  9. Slave (3:38)