April 13, 2021

German modern metal outfit Venues have released a video for their highly infectious new single Shifting Colors. The track is the second single from their forthcoming album Solace, due for release on 27th August 2021 via Arising Empire.

Venues worked with videographer Marius Milinski to create the phenomenal music video for Shifting Colors, continuing the story that began in previous single Rite Of Passage

From the depths of their deepest crisis, Venues emerge victoriously, welcoming two new members – clean vocalist Lela and guitarist Valentin. When former vocalist Nyves quit the band mid-tour, following the release of their pivotal debut Aspire (2019), the modern metal juggernaut was shaken to the bone

Despite this, the remaining members refused to give up and tirelessly searched for new talent. Following guitarist Constantin witnessing a performance of Lela at (of all places) at a Steel Panther show, the band found their new clean vocalist.

Venues went into the studio with producer Christoph Wieczorek (Annisokay) to record Solace, who coated their massive sound with a metallic alloy of remarkable precision.

“We wanted to be more metal,”Robin comments. “There were some pop sensibilities of Aspire we wanted to replace with rather the opposite.”

Melody and punch-drunk heaviness, metal and alternative rock, zeitgeist and authenticity, barbed choruses and unleashed creativity: with their soaring sophomore release, Venues fulfil every single promise they gave on Aspire.

“2020 showed all of us how much the band is helping us keep our sanity,” guitarist Robin muses. “Almost the whole band went through minor or medium crises since the release of our debut. Relationships went sour, things were ended and begun. In times like these, our second album was the light at the end of the tunnel. Something we all could look forward to. Our music held our heads above water.”

It’s a big leap, going from Aspire to Solace and it’s a logical one, too. Ten songs, ten exorcisms of negative energy, ten lifesavers.

Solace track list

  1. Razorblade Teeth
  2. Whydah Gally
  3. Rite of Passage
  4. Uncaged Birds
  5. Into the Fire
  6. Down Below
  7. Shifting Colors
  8. Our Destiny
  9. Deceptive Faces
  10. Mountains

VENUES online: