July 21, 2023

Vypera is yet another in a long line of seemingly never-ending Swedish hard rock bands having formed in 2016 and they have followed up last years debut, Eat Your Heart, rather rapidly with Race Of Time. The group originally began life as a covers band under the name of Madhouse and, like so many others before them, found that they were writing more and more original material so the covers were left behind and they branched out as Vypera with the debut release showing a team of fine musicians thoroughly enjoying themselves with some hard hitting but totally controlled hard rock/metal.

This is another band with its roots very firmly planted with old-school 80’s hard rock and have, to me at least, an element of Diamond Head and even Schenker era UFO about their sound and, as with so many Swedish bands, they have a distinct transatlantic flavour that will give appeal on both sides of the ocean. They pretty much follow the 4 to 5-minute hard rock template with the songs coming in fast and direct and all packing a huge punch with nothing overblown or over-extended, just straight forward and direct metal that hits straight between the eyes. The four original members remain with Andreas Wallström on vocals, Christoffer Thelin on guitar, Andreas Andersson on bass and Johan Pettersson on drums but the team has been expanded with the addition of Cederick Forsberg on lead guitars and what an impact he has had on the group now that there are two stunning axemen laying down thrilling solos over a series of crunching riffs and if you fancy yourself as a bit of a diva on air guitar then this is a new album to strut your stuff to and impress your friends with. They seem to have a bit of a knack for anthemic stadium rockers and the new material is sure to get any audience up and on its feet.

The only small reservation I have is that the vocals of Andreas Wallström at times just seem a little flat which is very strange as there was nothing like this on Eat Your Heart Out so maybe it is only a small production or mixing matter but he can do so much better. Even with this small issue this remains a superb album with some of the best lead guitar breaks around at the moment.

Race Of Time

  1. Hey You (3:51)
  2. Riding On The Wind (4:07)
  3. Mary Jane (5:24)
  4. Stormwind (4:25)
  5. Vicious (4:46)
  6. No Place For A Dreamer (4:25)
  7. Trying Hard To Run Away (4:43)
  8. Fool’s Game (4:42)
  9. Speedin’ (3:09)
  10. Daytona (4:54)
  11. Slave To Love (4:22)