January 13, 2021

Retransmission is an album that has been eagerly awaited by all hard/melodic rock fans of the supergroup that is W.E.T., a band put together by the three integral musicians of Robert Säll (the ‘W’ from Work Of Art), Erik Mårtensson (the ‘E’ from Eclipse) and Jeff Scott Soto (the ‘T’ from Talisman). Together, they have previously released three studio albums of which all are virtually perfect examples of hard rock as well as a truly wonderful live album in 2014 that you simply have to see and hear. The last album, Earthrage, was released in 2018 for which they were joined by the Eclipse guitarist Magnus Henriksson and drummer Robban Bäck (ex Sabaton and Eclipse) and this too is an absolutely essential album with W.E.T. playing imperious AOR that was perfect, fluid and controlled melodic rock at its best.

For Retransmission, the three core musicians of Jeff Scott Soto on lead vocals, Erik Martensson on rhythm and lead guitar and keyboards and Robert Säll on keyboards and guitar have again reunited with Magnus Henriksson on lead guitar Robban Bäck on drums with Andreas Passmark (Royal Hunt/Work Of Art) now brought in to provide bass guitar so this is a team of musicians well and truly steeped in classic rock. Quite often, these projects can sound a little stilted and can also be vanity releases but this is most definitely not the case with W.E.T. as it is a true, real and vibrant band with the musicians all bringing the best out in each other.

The vocal talents of Jeff Scott Soto are legendary and he is one of the premier melodic vocalists around as he brings style and class to any band or project that he is involved with. His voice on this album is just so perfect be it booming out on the anthemic stadium rockers or soft and refined and brimming over with emotion and yearning on the wondrous ballads. As should be expected, the songs are perfect slices of AOR with huge choruses, hooks aplenty and a warm immediacy that makes the album sound like an old and comfortable friend. The guitar work is exceptional with Mårtensson and Henriksson in the zone as they supply killer riffs and majestic solos that thrill and amaze. The bass and drums of Passmark and Bäck keep everything driving forward and what a team they make with Robert Säll providing sumptuous keyboards that are so lush and gorgeous. These are golden days for melodic rock and there are many bands out there providing excellent AOR but there is something special about W.E.T. and they have the skills and pedigree to rival those greats from the ’70s and ’80s, come on, you know which bands I mean.

If you know the band then you will already have your order in for Retransmission and if new to you then please start here and you will most definitely seek out the earlier albums too. This is melodic rock of the highest order from a truly remarkable band.

Retransmission track list

  1. Big Boys Don’t Cry (3:04)
  2. The Moment Of Truth (4:34)
  3. The Call Of The Wild (3:50),
  4. Got To Be About Love (3:31)
  5.  Beautiful Game (3:50)
  6. How Far To Babylon (4:26)
  7. Coming Home (3:05)
  8. What Are You Waiting For (5:00)
  9. You Better Believe It (3:04)
  10. How Do I Know (4:14)
  11. One Final Kiss (3:13)