October 27, 2021

I always loved the name, We Butter The Bread With Butter or WBTBWB if you are short of time finally return with album number five, the long overdue Das Album which arrives some six years after the previous release, Wieder Geil!

A lot has happened in those years with wholescale changes in personnel as the band reverts to the founding duo of Marcel Neumann and the returning vocalist Tobias Schultka who is now back after leaving way back in 2010. Neumann seems to have taken over all instrumentation for the album with guitar, synths, bass and programming plus backing vocals leaving Schultka to deliver his devastating vocals in dramatic style.

I guess WBTBWB are very much an acquired taste as German deathcore can sometimes be a difficult pill to swallow but it is best served when the volume is turned up to the maximum and you allow yourself to simply surrender to the musical onslaught. However, the band has always had a melodic element as they have always been keen to fuse electro beats into their hard grinding music and this has always given the band a more commercial element even though this may not be the first thing that you notice about the sound.

With Das Album the band seems to have gone back to basics and produced a loud and heavy hardcore album but electronic music still makes up a huge part of the sound and this gives a very refined and dance beat to the proceedings which works really well with the aggressive and intense vocal style of Schultka which gives the album a real flavour of NDH too.

Loud, proud and heavy, Das Album shows WBTBWB at their best as they blast through 13 tracks of the finest and most intense deathcore but all with a melodic and electronic flavour that broadens the appeal and welcomes you into their crazy world of mayhem and wonder.

Das Album

  1. Das Album Intro (1:03)
  2. Dreh auf! (3:02)
  3. 20 km-h (3:11)
  4. N!CE (3:06)
  5. Schreibwarenfachverkäufer (3:33)
  6. Läuft (2:36)
  7. Jump ‘n’ Run (3:50)
  8. Sprich sie einfach an (2:49)
  9. Meine Finger sind zu klein (4:00)
  10. Piks mich (3:49), Metal (3:24)
  11. Angriff der Dönerteller (3:37)
  12. Letzter Song (3:21)