March 18, 2024

Ever asked yourself, what it would sound like if British legend Witchfinder General got lost high on shrooms within the wonderfully weird New Jersey thrash metal scene? Don’t worry, you’re not alone: US-thrashers MIDNITE HELLION somehow seemed to have woken up to just the same question some day.

And while psilos aren’t on their diet, NWOBHM – from Blitzkrieg fast to slow and heavy – certainly is! One possible answer to your question could certainly be Army Of The Dead from the band’s (outside US) upcoming album Kingdom Immortal.

At the sinister end of an intro that presents itself as slow and cozy as a good old doom metal funeral march but with a battery of war drums joining, a single bell strike rings it in: the massive wall of mid-tempo mosh carrying the infectiously grippy chorus that’s of such paramount importance for any metal anthem to work. 

And as it began, it shall end – more slow cooking groove, more melodies in a creamy guitar solo, heck, even more death bells tolling the end of the show unless the replay button is being watched out for and pressed. In which case it’s straight back to business with heavy-as-fuck thrash and that certain rock’n’roll attitude paired with the intriguing playfulness that so many of us find and love in NWOBHM. And a love letter it truly is, a homage that comes flying across the great pond here:

Upon release to the US market in 2022, MIDNITE HELLION‘s album Kingdom Immortal immediately entered the Metal Contraband and NACC Radio charts. And soon – on April 12, 2024 – the crazy time traveling riff machine will also become available for European fans of classic neck shredding. The title derives from a Rock’n’Roll heaven, which every deceased musician or band joins when they call it quits. Composed of eight memorable tracks, Kingdom Immortal will be available on digital, CD, MC and LP for the first time outside the US.

Kingdom Immortal

  1. H.M.O
  2. She-Demon
  3. Phantomland
  4. Rapscallion
  5. Speed Demon
  6. Resurrected
  7. Army Of The Dead
  8. In Sickness And In Hell


Formed in 2011 by drummer Drew Rizzo, MIDNITE HELLION took shape with the addition of bassist and vocalist Rich Kubik in 2016. Their distinctive style – classic, no-frills heavy metal serving tremendously infectious spurts of thrash riffs with a straight, fun stage attitude – made the guys a top pick for world-class acts to ignite their respective crowds. Bringing their strong regional fan base to the table, MIDNITE HELLION shared the stages with Overkill, Dirkschneider, Grim Reaper, Flotsam & Jetsam, Obituary, Diamond Head, Raven, Exodus, Yngwie Malmsteen, and many more.

Their electrifying debut album Condemned to Hell (2017) proved to be just the kind of wrecking ball that the band needed. Picked up and widely spread by multiple Marconi award holder WSOU 89.5 FM, the album successfully leveled a solid path into the wider US metal scene. In less than a year, Condemned to Hell became a national phenomenon – and so did MIDNITE HELLION as a touring act, spawning intense mosh pits left, right, and center. The touring cycle in support of the album peaked in late 2018, when the band shared stages with OTEP and THE WORLD OVER in the Midwest and Mountain regions of the United States.

Fueled by the sheer awesomeness of their fans and the energy received from this crowd, and driven by a bag of new songs and ideas that they brought back home, MIDNITE HELLION entered Pyramid Sound Studios in Ithaca, NY in August 2019. The recording of their second album Kingdom Immortal took them only six days – with the help of iconic producer Alex Perialas, who in the past contributed to shaping the signature thrash sound of Anthrax/S.O.D, Overkill or Testament, while also adding a pound or two to Joe Bonamassa‘s music.Mixing took place in March and Mastering in May 2021, before the vinyl mastering got cut at Infrasonic Sound by Daniel Bacigalupi (Barry Gibb, Dolly Parton, Stray Cats, Willie Nelson).

Kingdom Immortal became successful with radio stations in the United States from the get-go, landing within the top 5 added albums on radio throughout the nation.As a result, MIDNITE HELLION toured the US with Anvil in summer 2022 for 39 dates, supporting the album, followed by a second US leg with Anvil for an additional 25 dates in spring 2023.Set out for the first world-wide release including Europe, MIDNITE HELLION will hit the road for an extensive US+Canada tour with German metal machine U.D.O. later in 2024. The blast from the past is far from over.

  • 9/6 Frenchtown, NJ – Artie’s Bar & Grill
  • 9/7 New Bedford, MA – The Vault Music Hall
  • 9/8 Reading, PA – Reverb
  • 9/11 Jefferson, LA – Southport Music Hall
  • 9/12 Houston, TX – Rise Rooftop
  • 9/14 San Antonio, TX – Rolling Oaks Event Center
  • 9/15 Dallas, TX – Trees
  • 9/17 El Paso, TX – Rockhouse Bar & Grill
  • 9/18 Glendale, AZ – The 44
  • 9/20 San Francisco, CA – DNA Lounge
  • 9/21 Santa Ana, CA – Stages
  • 9/22 West Hollywood, CA – Whisky A Go Go
  • 9/23 San Diego, CA – Brick By Brick
  • 9/25 Denver, CO – The Rickhouse
  • 9/27 McHenry, IL – The Vixen
  • 9/28 Joliet, IL – The Forge
  • 10/1 Ottawa, ON – Brass Monkey
  • 10/2 Montreal, QC – Les Foufounes Electriques
  • 10/3 Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace
  • 10/4 Westland, MI – Token Lounge
  • 10/5 Ringle, WI – Q & Z Expo Center
  • 10/6 Milwaukee, WI – Shank Hall
  • 10/9 Harrison, OH – Blue Note
  • 10/12 Manchester, NH – Angel City Music Hall


Official Website