August 22, 2021

Wildstreet is an American rock band from New York City which was formed in 2006 but is a band very much out of time as they specialise in glam/sleaze metal that was at its peak in the ’80s and if they had been around at the time then they would surely be revered as much as bands like Skid Row, Motley Crüe, Quiet Riot and Twisted Sister. Having said that, there is still a huge glam metal movement and Wildstreet has become an integral part of it with the three albums that it has released and the countless rock shows that have been played over the years which has allowed it to become the finely honed band that it is today.

The group actually had a couple of years break before returning fully refreshed and ready to go again in 2016 with work on this album beginning very early on and it now seems that they have already released seven digital singles from the album with the first being Raise Hell in 2017. I know bands have to drum up interest but there are only eight tracks on the album with a running time of only 34-minutes so to have already released seven singles from the album seems a rather strange and self-defeating choice to make! However, if this is the first time you will have heard the band or, indeed, this album then you are in for a great time as the band members takes all that is greatest about sleaze rock and then produce their own style of up-tempo rock and roll that incorporates elements of all of the glam metal greats plus a touch of the down to earth grittiness shown by Aerosmith at the heights of the bands power.

The musicians that line-up for this new album are Eric Jayk on vocals, Jimmy Marlowe and Don Marles on guitar, Jonny D on bass and Lock Driver on drums and was produced by Kyle Paas, mixed by Jon Kaplan, and mastered by Howie Weinberg and what a great job they have all done in making the album crisp clean, fresh and truly rocking. The band most definitely concentrates on the more serious side of sleaze and pretty much ignores the integral party-time atmosphere as they seem intent on producing their magnum opus and they have pretty much done that with this truly superior rock album that ticks just about every box. Vocals to die for, stunning guitar throughout and a level of song writing that is elevated above anything that they have done before, just check out the tremendous, burning monster that is Mother to see a band at the height of its creativity.

You do not have to be a glam metal fan to appreciate just how good a rock album this is, give it a spin and I’m sure you will be adding it to your collection.

Wildstreet III track list

  1. Tennessee Cocaine (3:38)
  2. Three way Ride (3:44)
  3. Set It Off (3:22)
  4. Still Love You (4:55)
  5. Midnight Children (4:19)
  6.  Born To Be (3:36)
  7. Raise Hell (2:52)
  8. Mother (7:20)