October 2, 2020

Based in Oslo, Norway, Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge is a post-rock collective whose sound can be placed alongside artists like Mono, This Will Destroy You, Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Mogwai.

Rolling guitar chords and haunting synths are the voices of YDNWR, floating on a sea of rumbling bass and drums. They describe themselves as being an essential element of creating instrumental love letters to arctic ecosystems, not only for the music itself, but as an expression of their world view. Humanity and nature being unbalanced, they want to take a step back and make better use of the resources available to highlight the issue.

Blitz Sessions was recorded by Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge and Bjørn Larsen at Blitzhuset in Oslo, mixed by Karl Løftingsmo Pedersen and mastered by Joakim Storeide in Oslo and is now available on a self-release.

The album only has three tracks: Godthab, at 7:07 minutes; Cape Sarichef Light, at 7:24 minutes; and New South Wales, at 18:24 minutes.

Hmmmm, I have to say that in the great pantheon of post-rock hall of fame, these three tracks are going to struggle to register. I actually quite like Godthab, it has a degree of pace and organic building to it which sustains one through its seven minutes. Sadly, the same can’t be said for Cape Sarichef Light – which is seven and a half minutes of quasi early Pink Floyd without the drama. New South Wales has the basic construction to be okay, but it’s twice as long which means that although it has a certain widescreen cinematic feel to it, but gloomy Swedish cinema. It has said all its going to in the first four minutes. Sorry guys, I know you’re trying hard and I hate to say this, but this is aural wallaper….