March 12, 2021

Zero 2 Nothing is a new rock band from Greece with Limits Of Temptation being their well formed debut release. There doesn’t seem to be much information available on the band other than they are described as progressive metal which they are in only the very loosest sense of the description. It would probably be more accurate to describe the band’s sound as post-grunge as there is far more of a flavour of Alter Bridge, Staind, Foo Fighters and Nickelback in their sound than, say, Dream Theater, Queensrÿche or Symphony X.

Vocalist Thodoris Tsouanatos has a definite Chad Kroeger vibe with a delivery that sounds and feels very American and he must be praised very highly for his English which is totally accent free. He is capably supported by Vasilis Kouvelis on guitar, Christos Peveretos on bass and Ourania Vlachouli on piano and synths but there is no mention of a drummer as it seems the seat is now vacant following the departure of the drummer seemingly only known as Periklis.

The nine songs featured on the CD show a talented band with a penchant for understated rock as they eschew showboating to concentrate on harmonious and melodic rock with everything in the right place. Kouvelis has a great line in riffs and when he cuts lose he does so spectacularly with the bass skills of Peveretos being equally impressive and you can tell that he has a jazz bassists approach to rock, very fluid and hard working. The piano work Vlachouli is melodious, effective and emotional and you get the feel that the band has worked long and hard producing these nine very fine songs.

Not metal by any means but certainly new classic rock with American derived post-grunge tendencies make this is an impressive debut especially if you are a fan of alternative rock US style.

Limits Of Temptation track list

  1. Zero 2 Nothing (4:58)
  2. Run Away From U (3:36)
  3. In God’s Will (4:24)
  4. Dreaming Awake (4:31)
  5. Feel My Sorrow (3:20)
  6. Limits Of Temptation (4:42)
  7. Closer (3:25)
  8. Running Deep In Me (3:54)
  9. Bloody Mary (4:32)