March 23, 2023

Pist.On is an alt-rock/hard rock band from Brooklyn that released two albums in the ’90s but folded in 2001. Fast forward to 2015 and the band reformed and started writing some new material which led to live performances around 2018 onwards. This new material was put out on the Cold World EP which initially received a digital release only but is now available on CD in expanded format.

The songs are a mixture of older material including the 2001 Saves EP, some new material including demos and the track Exhume Her which was featured on Metal Blade’s 1995 Metal Massacre XII compilation. This material pretty much shows a band currently in the process of recovering from a long slumber and gradually regaining its powers with many of the old, long-standing members returning with Henry Font on vocals and guitar, Burton Gans on guitar, Jeff McManus on drums and Jack Hanley on bass.

The music is pleasingly fuzz heavy, down-tuned stoner hard rock and it makes you wonder just what the band could have achieved if they hadn’t simply slipped into hibernation which makes Cold World + a long overdue and most welcome.

Cold War +

  1. Cold World (3:27)
  2. Ruin Your Day 3:25)
  3. Icicles 3:37)
  4. Vamp 69 (4:19)
  5. Opera (4:00)
  6. I Don’t (4:18)
  7. Exhume Her (4:13)
  8. Ice Bath (Demo 2000) (3:10)
  9. Another Day (Demo 2021) (3:20)
  10. Light (Demo 2021) (3:30)
  11. Pain (Demo 2021) (4:36)