September 20, 2020

On first listen, I thought that this symphonic metal band with soprano type operatic vocals and death metal growls to be something of a chaotic whirlwind with far too much happening to take it all in. However, after a couple of plays it all falls into place, makes perfect sense and starts to grow on you to become an almost essential part of your music life.

This Italian band formed in 2007 with Multiverse being their third release and I now have to check out the back catalogue to see what wonders await there. It seems that the band is split these days between Italy and France and the rather wonderful and often bizarre French love of the more esoteric side of progressive rock has certainly added an element of quaintness and darkly unsettling rhythms to the proceedings. Of course, having eight quite diverse musicians takes some handling and careful direction is needed but this is done perfectly here as they have created a real wall of sound that initially threatens to swamp your senses but get several plays in you start to appreciate the subtle nuances that make this album so special. Vocals are both male and female and clean and growled and it would be so easy to say that because it is symphonic rock with strong female vocals then it is in the same category with Epica, Delain, Nightwish and Within Temptation which is actually correct but then again, paradoxically, so wrong. In truth, Aevum deserve their own category as there are just so few bands like them and for this they should be lauded. The band comprises Lucille Nightshade and Hydra on vocals, Paul on bass, Emanuel and Lord on guitar, Ian on samples, Richard on synths and vocals and Cozy on drums. It’s not that easy to find out more information on the band but that is perhaps what they want, to keep an air of mystery as this is very much a mysterious and enigmatic album. The overall sound of the band is symphonic metal and there are the usual thunderous drums and bass and huge, crashing riffs but the band also delights in electronica and this combined with the quite exquisite soprano vocals makes
this a heady delight of an album and probably one not quite of this world. The only real way to understand it is to turn out the lights, sit back, crank up the volume and prepare to be swept away on a quite magical journey of wonder and delight. However, you have to accept that this album is one of a polarising sort and people will either love it or hate it. As for me, well I think it is awesome, fantastic, unearthly, amazing and truly progressive and a masterpiece of immense proportions.

Multiverse track list

  1. The Pilgrim (3:57)
  2. Spark Of Life (4:26)
  3. Tair (4:24)
  4. Black Honeymoon (4:14)
  5. The Time Machine (4:14)
  6. Cold Spot (5:12)
  7. Ulas (3:43)
  8. Hopeless (4:00)
  9. Fratricide (4:24)
  10. Wwiii (4:12)
  11. Seeds (4:44)
  12. The Garden Of Mars (4:45)
  13. Cessate, Omai Cessate (2:38)