October 10, 2020

US Hard Rock band American Tears will release their latest album Free Angel Express through Deko Entertainment on October 23, 2020, first single and video for Sledgehammered out now, check out the video below.

American Tears is an American keyboard trio that released its first record, Branded Bad, on Columbia Records in 1974, it’s second, Tear Gas, in 1975, and its final for Columbia, Powerhouse in 1977 before keyboard player Mark Mangold reformed them in 2018. The latest, Free Angel Express features Alex Landenburg (Stratovarius, Kamelot, Rhapsody, Cyhra)on drums, with guest appearances by Barry Sparks(UFO, Dokken), Doug Howard (Touch, Utopia, Edgar Winter Band) and Charlie Calv (Angel, Shotgun Symphony).

About the making of Free Angel Express, “If I can convey and express an emotion, create a thought, a “moment”, I’m good. It’s music, but it’s also life,” explains Mangold, who has also fronted melodic rockers Touch, who played at the very first Monster Of Rock and AOR band Drive, She Said. “Gotta let the imagination fly. There was no one to confuse me so I just followed instincts and chased the adrenaline.” American Tears continues its journey with keyboard rock that varies from extended progressive and heartfelt songs offering anthemic choruses, lush tapestries, scathing soloing and poignant lyrics.”

Sledgehammered” is the first single and video, Mark states, “We wanted to start the album off loud and crazy. It started from a little trick I had on the organ.  Almost a guitar riff really.  I built the song from that…..I do think like a guitar player sometimes, but I think if Sledgehammered were played on guitar it could just be another guitar song…not a bad one ha ha…but the Hammond takes it to a whole ‘nuther fresh level for me.”

Mark Mangold is also an accomplished songwriter working with Michael Bolton, Cher and Paul Rodgers, penning the hits Fools Game, I Found Someone, and For A Little Ride, and many others. Deko Entertainment president Bruce Pucciarello states, “All of us at Deko are thrilled to be working with Mark, one of our industry’s transcendent creataholics. The true skill here is Mark‘s ability to individualize his creations in a way that they always feel contemporary. Timeless, catchy and inventive.”

Free Angel Express track list

1. Sledgehammered
2. Set It On Fire
3. Free Angel Express/Resist/Outta Here
4. Not For Nothing
5. Glass
6. Everything You Take
7. Roll The Stone
8. Blue Rondo
9. Can’t Get Satisfied
10. Woke
11. Shadows Aching Karma
12. So Glow
13. Rise To The Light
14. Tusk (Blood on the Ivory) DOWNLOAD ONLY

Product Includes:

– One Free Angel Express CD
– One American Tears Tee

More Info: