August 8, 2020

BENEDICTION are without a doubt one of the few remaining originals in the death metal scene and have achieved legendary status through their output over the years. Still, today, they love what they do and always do their job without compromise – both on record and on stage. After more than 30 years in the business and 12 years since their last album Killing Music, BENEDICTION are now back with one of their best releases yet as they retain their seat in the pantheon of death metal. The first single/video Rabid Carnality can be streamed everywhere from today and alongside it is the kick-off for the presale of the new album Scriptures (produced by Scott Atkins at Grindstone Studio in England). It will be released digitally, on CD and in various vinyl formats.

The new album Scriptures sounds 100% like BENEDICTION: they blend death metal with a “fuck-off punk rock attitude”, heavy metal riffing and a groove that hardly any other band can capture. Dave Ingram‘s signature growl and powerful lyrics enhance the tonal framework that makes their sound so distinctly BENEDICTION. As usual the tracks vary from slow and heavy to fast and intense, from shorter, in your face rippers to crushing monoliths.

The artwork fits perfectly to BENEDICTION and awakens and will resonate with any devoted Old School Death Metal fan. It was created by Birmingham artist Simon Harris and is reminiscent of the iconic artwork of their early output. There’s no doubt that it will fit in perfectly to every vinyl collection next to Subconscious Terror, The Grand Leveller or Transcend The Rubicon.

All in all, Scriptures is an album of bare bones death metal, where everything is just as it should be. A jewel in the catalogue of a band that has been present from the very beginning and, in line with one of their most classic songs We Bow To None, has always remained true to themselves and their fans. 

BENEDICTION are BACK! And they are better than EVER!

Scriptures track listing

  1. Iterations Of I
  2. Scriptures In Scarlet
  3. The Crooked Man
  4. Stormcrow
  5. Progenitors Of A New Paradigm
  6. Rabid Carnality
  7. In Our Hands, The Scars
  8. Tear Off These Wings
  9. Embrace The Kill
  10. Neverwhen
  11. The Blight At The End
  12. We Are Legion

Benediction is:

Darren Brookes – guitar
Peter Rew – guitar
Dave Ingram – vocals
Dan Bate – bass
Giovanni Durst – drums

Benediction online: