January 1, 2022
Photo Credit: Nikolaj Georgiew

Finally the time has come for the last big highlight of the year – the new FEUERSCHWANZ album Memento Mori sees the light of day! The Germans once again do not miss the opportunity to celebrate the release with their fans and can be seen until late evening in the free album release livestream. Besides an exclusive concert, talks with various guests and much more, the fifth official video taken off Memento Mori will be released!

In the new video for Ultima Nocte FEUERSCHWANZ heat up all warriors with driving guitars and pressing drums on the last night before the battle. A good portion of pyro should not be missing – Ultima Nocte is the perfect New Year’s Eve soundtrack!

FEUERSCHWANZ on Ultima Nocte: “ULTIMA NOCTE – THE LAST NIGHT BEFORE THE BATTLE! Ultima Nocte represents our development from the early days until today like no other song! Based on our first album Prima Nocte this time it’s about the Ultima Nocte (lat.: Last Night) …before the battle! No title fits better to the turn of the year and to our album release! We gather around the fires, raise our horns, look full of confidence into the future and invoke our common fighting spirit, our friendship and the love for epic folk metal. Join the chorus of heroes, warriors and shieldmaidens, for the Last Night Before The Battle has come!”

On the now released Memento Mori FEUERSCHWANZ finally make the step away from the simpler humour of earlier days, to one of the most important bands in German Folk-Rock!

With chanting violin playing, Memento Mori starts its heroic journey with its eponymous opener. The song turns out to be a melodic rock anthem with a well-known medieval character, a blazing guitar riff and life-affirming lyrics. On Untot im Drachenboot, the squad around Captain Feuerschwanz sets off for new musical shores in a Viking ship full of undead warriors. Rausch der Barberei, on the other hand delivers a violent, raw voice and driving drumming that send its listeners into unbridled frenzy. On KrampusFEUERSCHWANZ sing in a canon of vocals and instruments about the ancient legend of the demonic companion of St. Nicholas, who is dressed in fur and a horned mask. On the ballad Das Herz eines Drachen (The Heart of a Dragon), the medieval folk rockers show their sensible side. In a fire lit by burning guitar sounds and flute melodies, a warrior mourns his fallen father with his head held high. Hannibal on the other hand embarks on a raging battle of powerful choirs, swirling violin and guitar solos and driving drums, led by army commander Hannibal. The crowning finale of the almost 40-minute adventure is provided by Skaldenmet with its proudly advancing bass.
In typical FEUERSCHWANZ manner, Memento Mori is about great adventures, past battles and outstanding heroic deeds. FEUERSCHWANZ manage to stay true to their trademarks and at the same time venture into new musical realms. Fans of the band can look forward to an extensive deluxe edition of the album, which extends the running time of Memento Mori by almost double! Two additional CDs feature instrumental versions of all eleven tracks as well as the cover CD Die Glorreichen Sieben (The Magnificent Seven), which includes seven epic reissues from Amon Amarth to Die Ärzte and The Weeknd.

FEUERSCHWANZ on the new album: “You take nothing with you to your grave, except your coffin… Memento Mori is the direct successor to Die Letzte Schlacht! The world of Hauptmann Feuerschwanz is in flames, overrun by the living dead and scourged by religious zealots… All of this sounds frighteningly real, even in Anno Domini 2021, so it’s time to defy the storm once again and celebrate life. Let’s live here, let’s live now – until death sharpens his knife!”

Memento Mori

  1. Memento Mori
  2. Untot im Drachenboot
  3. Ultima Nocte
  4. Rausch der Barbarei
  5. Krampus
  6. Feuer & Schwert
  7. Das Herz eines Drachen
  8. Rohirrim
  9. Am Galgen
  10. Hannibal
  11. Skaldenmet

Tracklist Die Glorreichen Sieben

  1. Blinding Lights (The Weeknd Cover)
  2. Warriors Of The World United (Manowar Cover)
  3. Twilight Of The Thundergod (Amon Amarth Cover)
  4. The Bad Touch (Bloodhound Gang Cover)
  5. Dragostea Din Tei (O-Zone Cover)
  6. Square Hammer (Ghost Cover)
  7. Der Graf (Die Ärzte Cover)

Memento Mori is available in the following formats:

3-CD Earbook (48 Pages)
Deluxe Box (Inkl Mediabook, Flag, A5 Wall calendar, 8 exclusive postcards, hit flask, and clothbag)
Vinyl Box (incl.2 Vinyl, 48-pages book, slipmat)
2 Music Cassette orange 
2 Music Cassette light blue
2-CD Mediabook + 40 pages booklet and patch
1-Cd Jewel Case + 20 pages booklet
1-LP Gatefold Vinyl black

Hauptmann Feuerschwanz – vocals, guitar
Johanna von der Vögelweide – violin, hurdy-gurdy
Rollo H. Schönhaar – drums
Jarne Hodinsson – bass
Prinz Hodenherz – flutes, bagpipe, vocals, guitar
Hans der Aufrechte – guitar


Official Website