August 21, 2022

Every now and again you come across a band or album that leaves you just a little baffled or perplexed as you have absolutely no idea what is going on. J.B.O. is such an outfit but whatever they are doing must work for them as they have been around since 1989 and have recorded very many albums.

The band was formed in Erlangen in Germany by Vito C. (Vocals/Guitar) and Hannes ‘G. Laber’ Holzmann (Vocals/Guitar) as a comedy/parody hard rock band performing original material and parody versions of well known international hits. Ralph Bach (Bass) and Wolfram Kellner (drums) complete the current round up and all revel in the assorted lunacy that the band most obviously delights in serving up for its very many fans.

To be honest, you really need to speak German to fully appreciate the craziness of the record as, in many cases, much of what is happening is beyond your comprehension as there are a number of long narrative type vocals which are obviously amusing but pass over your head if you do not speak the language. However, music is a language in itself and there is much here to make you smile and join in with as you will catch snippets of so many well known songs not least of which being Metal Was My First Love which is a reworking of the John Miles classic Music was My First Love.

J.B.O. does not take itself too seriously and I doubt they are looking to win too many awards but they can play and are having a great time. You do not have to speak German to enjoy the comedy slapstick but it would most certainly help if you do.

Planet Pink

  1. Planet Pink (4:17)
  2. Rockmusik Hat Mich Versaut (3:51)
  3. Metal Was My First Love (5:38)
  4. Immer Noch Am Leben (4:00)
  5. Einhorn (3:02)
  6. Expeditionen Ins Geistreich (1:08)
  7. Klassiker! (3:22)
  8. Nicht Doof (3:51)
  9. Mi-Ma-Metal (3:02)
  10. Glaub Mir Lieber Nicht (3:02)
  11. Wir Kommen Alle In Die Hölle (2:44)
  12. Volks-Prog (5:30)