February 1, 2023

Motive Black’s debut album titled, Auburn, drops worldwide on Friday, February 10, 2023. Produced by Grammy-winner Nick Rowe (Bloodsimple, Vampire Weekend) the album features special guests such as Marcos Curiel (P.O.D.)Ray Luzier (Korn), and Carla Harvey (Butcher Babies).

“Motive Black are poised for big things,” says Eli Enis at Revolver and compares Elana Justin to artists like Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale and the Pretty Reckless’ Taylor Momsen. Leah Brungardt at All Access adds: “Motive Black is the creative phoenix born of singer Elana Justin’s pain, tenacity, and resilience.”

“Auburn has been a roller coaster to work on,” frontwoman and founding band member Elana explains. “It explores change, evolution, and the ugly and beautiful things that go along with that. It’s a ride through manic highs and heavy lows. There is a lot of messiness involved in rediscovering yourself. I’m so grateful for all of the amazing people involved in the creation of this album. It was really amazing working with people like Carla, Ray, Marcos, and of course Nick. I am so excited to finally get Auburn out into the world!

Elana says that album “is named for my sister’s beautiful auburn-colored hair. Losing her to addiction forced me to reexamine my life and make significant changes. I went through a huge transitional period. This album is the narrative of that journey.

Auburn features Elana Justin on vocals; Nick Rowe on guitar, bass and co-songwriting credits; drummer Ray Luzier (Korn) on six tracks; guitarist Marcos Curiel (P.O.D.) on the first single “Broken”; and “special guest” Carla Harvey of Butcher Babies on the song “Lift Me Up”. Harvey also co-starred in the video for that track and says: “I love collaborating with strong women on projects so when I was asked to add my vocals to “Lift Me Up”, I happily obliged. The result…an infectious tune, a new found friendship…!”

Auburn was produced at the legendary NRG Studios in North Hollywood, Calif. by Grammy- winning Nick Rowe (Vampire Weekend, Lamb Of God, Madonna, Snoop Dogg) and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Lamb of God, Korn, Papa Roach). Motive Black will appeal to fans of Evanescence, Delain, Follow The Cypher, The Pretty Reckless, Halestorm, New Years Day, In This Moment, Shinedown.


  1. Lift Me Up (feat. Carla Harvey)
  2. Broken (feat. Ray Luzier, Marcos Curiel)
  3. Let Down
  4. Bloodsport
  5. Caged (feat. Ray Luzier)
  6. Purge
  7. Cellophane (feat. Ray Luzier)
  8. Bad Decisions
  9. Fake (feat. Ray Luzier)
  10. Fight Alone (feat. Ray Luzier)
  11. Auburn (feat. Ray Luzier


Official Website