May 15, 2022

With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel is the debut release by Power Paladin, a power metal band which formed in Iceland in 2017 initially with the name Paladin which they then changed to Power Paladin in 2020. Of course, Iceland is a spectacularly beautiful country of myth, legend, fire and ice which are all subjects that lend themselves so beautifully to power metal and in With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel the band has produced what must be one of the greatest debut power metal albums of all time.

Now these guys have obviously listened to a lot of metal over the years and this has allowed them to distil the sound of so many bands into this 50-minute crazy roller-coaster of a ride. The band has been developing a rather good name since the album came out and all those who hear the album are falling under the spell of a band that gives everything it has in producing a hard hitting metal album that incorporates just about every trick and element of power metal whilst having great fun and adding no little humour into their collective delivery.

I do not know any of the individual musicians but they make for a great team and, courtesy of cut and paste, I can share their details with Atli Guðlaugsson on vocals, Ingi Þórisson and Bjarni Þór Jóhannsson on guitars, Bjarni Egill Ögmundsson on keyboards, Kristleifur Þorsteinsson on bass and Einar Karl Júlíusson on drums. Now if you are a fan of bands like Twilight Force, Hammerfall, Blind Guardian and Rhapsody (with or without ‘Of Fire’) with a healthy influence of Iron Maiden too then you are going to love this new album. Yes, it is derivative but that is how it is supposed to be especially with that little touch of Rhapsody madness and the fact that it is most assuredly over the top in terms of delivery and musicianship makes this an album that you sit up and take notice of. Atli Guðlaugsson has a tremendous voice for metal and gives a stellar performance with a range fixed somewhere between Dio and Dickinson and it is a good job that he has a huge set of lungs as he has to compete with the twin guitar pairing of Ingi Þórisson and Bjarni Þór Jóhannsson who both delight in laying down a never ending stream of searing guitar breaks against the usual pounding bass and cataclysmic double bass drums with some exotic and simply gorgeous keyboards to keep everything melodic and sonically pleasing.

To hear With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel is to fall in love with it and let’s hope that the band has many more gems like this ready to be unleashed on an adoring power metal audience.

With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel

  1. Kraven The Hunter (5:31)
  2. Righteous Fury (5:13)
  3. Evermore (4:32)
  4. Dark Crystal (5:57)
  5. Way Of Kings (5:11)
  6. Ride The Distant Storm (4:56)
  7. Creatures Of The Night (5:38)
  8. Into The Forbidden Forest (7:32)
  9. There Can Be Only One (6:52)