June 3, 2023

Something brutal is coming. Amidst a resurgent, tonal wave of aggression taking place in metal, Cleveland bred pioneers of extreme atrocity RINGWORM have risen. Decades into their influential career, the band has announced their signing to Nuclear Blast Records with plans to release their most vicious record in decades, Seeing Through Fire, on 18th August.

Commenting on the band’s signing to Nuclear Blast, founding vocalist Human Furnace says: “We couldn’t be more excited, really. Getting out to a larger audience is always the goal. And after a career as long as ours, you really appreciate your opportunities when they come to you. The chance to reach out to a globally larger metal scene, is always what the doctor ordered. NB gives us reach that we haven’t had over the years and we’re definitely fired up.

Speaking about the record Human Furnace adds We’re pretty pumped on Seeing Through Fire. It’s a total burner. It’s a straight forward, “smash your face and leave you layin there wondering what you got hit with” type record. We’ve never felt the need to “re-invent our own wheel” but going into this one we tried some different things sonically, and we’re very happy with the results. Of course, it’s the intention, every time we record a new record, but we feel like the over-all sound, feel and aggression of Seeing Through Fire, one ups many of our past records. Which, for anyone that knows our catalog, is not always an easy task. With every new record, you have to dig deeper.

Today, the band has revealed the record’s first single, a no holds barred, furious neck snapping track called No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy that lays the groundwork for the impending brutality. 

Human Furnace sa ys of the new single: There’s A LOT of crushers on the new one, so it was hard to pick one as a single. But we finally settled on NO SOLACE, NO QUARTER, NO MERCY.It’s got hooks, beat downs, head bangs, thrash…. Over-all a pretty good taste of what you’re gonna get from the new record and RINGWORM, in general. This one, delves into the endless conflict that we never seem to be free from. The constant outward, internal, mental and physical assaults that shape our lives, test our endurance, push our limits and challenge our breaking points.” 

With aggressive tendencies in metal on the rise again, RINGWORM’s return is warmly welcomed. The band has been violating the eardrums of listeners for years with more cataclysmic grit and intensity than peers half their age. As listeners of the first new single can attest, RINGWORM have emerged angrier than ever with no signs of slowing down any time soon. 

Seeing Through Fire

  1. 1. Seeing Through Fire
  2. Carved In Stone
  3. No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy
  4. Death Hoax
  5. Thought Crimes
  6. Unavoidable Truth
  7. House of Flies
  8. You Want It To
  9. Mental Decontrol
  10. Power and Blood
  11. Playing God


On the rarest of occasions, there comes along a band that latches on and annihilates your ears with such a unique combination of sounds, you find yourself dislodged from the monotony of every-day music, and rooted firmly in the terrain of admiration. Cleveland Ohio’s RINGWORM are no strangers to this concept, and have been fascinating metalheads with their unorthodox melodies for over 30 years. Now recently signed to Nuclear Blast Records, the guys are preparing to unleash their 9th studio album: Seeing Through Fire
“We wanted to go with a slightly different approach and look than the previous records, it’s a new era for us,” explains vocalist and founder James Bulloch, also known as the Human Furnace. “It’s a little bit of a return to our roots, you have those moments every so often where you wanna get back to your comfort zone, but at the same time you want to expand that comfort zone.”
A different level of sound quality was accomplished with Seeing Through Fire as technology allowed RINGWORM to banish any previous restrictions laid upon them during the production and recording processes. Working again with Noah Buchanan of Mercinary Studios in Cleveland, this was the first time everything, including vocals, was all recorded in that same space.
With Seeing Through Fire recorded and artwork prepped, the album was packaged and ready to go when Nuclear Blast Records became aware of RINGWORM‘s motivation to unleash it in 2023. “We’re fortunate to be able to work with Nuclear Blast, especially at this stage. It opens up a lot of doors for us, and a lot more people can hear what we do. We’re looking forward to working with them; it’s nice having their team, their machine, built around us.”
Look out for RINGWORM‘s newest offering: Seeing Through Fire, due to be released Summer 2023 via Nuclear Blast Records.

James ‘Human Furnace’ Bulloch – Vocals
Matt Sorg – Guitar
Mike Lare – Guitar
Ed Stephens – Bass

RINGWORM online: