May 19, 2022

Rizon is a hard rock/power metal outfit from Switzerland having formed in 1997 with Prime Time being the band’s fourth album and very much continues with the hard melodic rock that has served them so well since the formation of the band.

There have been a few changes over the years but the truth is that there has been much unity and stability too within the band as there are still four original members and several other long standing members too. They now line-up with Matthias Götz on vocals and acoustic guitar, Anastasia Panagiotou on vocals, Christian Götz and Reto Hähnel on guitars, Marco Küderli on keyboards, Maik Kindermann on bass and Tom Lindegger on drums which makes them a mighty powerful 7-piece with a big, big sound and they certainly make the most of the additional musicians. The band has always used the two vocalist formula to great effect and the combination of male and female singers gives them a real edge in the ever competitive melodic metal market. The incoming Anastasia Panagiotou has settled in extremely well and is already building up a great rapport with Matthias Götz and the band really should promote this angle to the maximum as this gives Rizon a sound that few others have in metal.

The songs are hard, strong and direct with plenty of stunning guitar to catch your attention but it is the vocals that will truly command your attention. Check out the sumptuous and expressive Save My Soul to see a masterclass in songwriting and a real exhibition of the wonderful way that male and female vocals can interact with some searing and serious soloing going on in the background. The publicity mentions the Pretty Maids, Dynazty and Avantasia and I’m not going to disagree with that as it is a pretty accurate description of the influences that the band has absorbed over the years and incorporated into their rather unique and individual sound.

Quite simply, Rizon knows how to rock and definitely how to party and have a great time and all are cordially invited to join them on their ever joyous journey.

Prime Time

  1. Truth Or Consequences (3:26)
  2. Rebel Heart (4:35)
  3. Torn (6:02)
  4. Fuckin’ Rock It (4:30)
  5. Time Till Kingdom Come (4:02)
  6. Save My Soul (7:27)
  7. Love Your Life (5:54)
  8. High Noon (5:15)
  9. In The End (4:12)
  10. Back To The Game (3:34)
  11. Through The Fire (4:59)
  12. Heaven’s Gate (5:52)