January 28, 2023

I guess life brings a few difficulties when you are the son of the famous Indian actor Sabu (you surely will have seen him steal the show as a child actor in Alexander Korda’s brilliant 1940 film Thief Of Bagdad‘) and your mother is Hollywood actress Marilyn Cooper. Paul Sabu resisted the temptation to take to the boards and instead chose to carve out a career as a singer, songwriter, producer and guitarist.

Sabu found great fame in the 1980’s with the band Only Child with the self-titled debut considered to be one of the finest AOR albums of all time. Either side of that defining record he released material under the Sabu name with what was effectively Only Child II also being put out as Sabu too and was a much heavier affair. Several albums followed with Sabu showcasing his rich and sonorous voice allied with some quite wonderful guitars and superior songs making him a real genius of the AOR/melodic scene. He has also developed a real reputation as a producer of repute working across the musical genres with a host of artists including David Bowie, Madonna and Shania Twain as well as composing for film and television. However, he remains a musician of serious intent and Banshee sees him teaming up with the multi-instrumentalist Barry Sparks who has previously worked with the likes of Yngwie Malmsteen, Michael Schenker Group, UFO, Dokken and Ted Nugent so he has a real pedigree in the world of rock. Indeed, this record is seriously overdue as his last album was Bangkok Rules from 2012 which was a fine hard rock album record full of his trademark golden tones, thrilling scream and exceptional guitar work.

Banshee is pretty much a continuation of the last album and if you know of his work then this album will fulfil all your expectations. There may be a few more years on the voice but Sabu still delivers perfectly and his song are hook laden melodic rock delights showing that he can still blend AOR with hard rock to perfection. If you do not know of his work then imagine what a record put out by Sammy Hagar and Whitesnake would sound like and this will give you an idea of what he offers and what makes Banshee such a pleasure to listen to.


  1. Blinded Me (4:37)
  2. Banshee (4:31)
  3. Kandi (4:05)
  4. Love Don’t Shatter (5:17)
  5. Back Side Of Water (4:47)
  6. Skin To Skin (4:11)
  7. Rock (4:28)
  8. Turn The Radio On (4:12)
  9. Dirty Money (4:11)
  10. Midnight Road To Madness (4:00)
  11. Rock The House (4:57)

Banshee is out now on Frontiers Records