May 22, 2022

Not a name I know or a genre I had even heard of before but Becko is the Italian producer, musician and singer Marco Calanca and considered to be one of the leading artists in the genre of trap metal/anime core. It seems that this category covers a somewhat overwhelming style of rock being a combination of Hip-Hop, Industrial, EDM and all under the anime lifestyle umbrella; oh, for the days when it was all called rock music and everything was so much simpler!

Becko – or Calanca if you wish – was has settled on a solo type career since coming out of the post hardcore band Hopes Die Last and he signed a multi-record deal with the FiXT label in 2020 with his first release for them being the album Inner Self. He has now followed this up with You Are (Not) Alone which is an album that is basically high energy and upbeat Hip-Hop/industrial metal with more than a feel of the works of the Dillinger Escape Plan. Electro beats fight with crunching riffs to grab your attention over which Becko screams and pouts with his powerful vocals with an in your face approach that is sure to impress just about any teenage or juvenile EMO musical fan. Occasionally, the tempo drops to something almost approaching ballad territory and this shows just how good a vocalist Becko is and, even though this is a genre I would not normally entertain, you cannot fail to be impressed by his performance, energy and sheer personality.

The album features appearances from a number of artists in Prymus, Gizmo, IN6N, Stefan, Rhen, and Marry Me! And Bellamy but, again, I do not know these artists or what individual skills they bring to the album but if this is your preferred genre then I’m sure that you will know all about them and what they offer. This is very much an album of contrasts ranging from incredibly hard hitting rock through Hip-Hop to beautiful but heavy ballads and all kinds of electro anime inspired hypnotic madness.

If you are looking for something a little different or you are partial to a little rap style Hip-Hop then you will love this new album from a truly talented artist.

You Are (Not) Alone

  1. You Are (Not) Alone (0:41)
  2. Otaku Pride (2:00)
  3. Kawaii Suicide (Ft. IN6N) (2:36)
  4. Darkest Days (3:28)
  5. Boku No Universe (3:32)
  6. Cryblood (Ft. ​gizmo) (2:37)
  7. WEEB (1:46)
  8. The Phoenix (2:09)
  9. Faceless by Becko & Prymus (2:56)
  10. Lonewolf by Becko & Stefan (3:11)
  11. The Generation Of The Unknown by Becko & Rhen (2:45)
  12. Cosplay (Ft. Marry Me, Bellamy) (1:55)
  13. 666Skincare (2:38), Dreamcatcher (2:53)