August 9, 2022

Sinner is yet another of those very high quality Judas Priest inspired heavy metal bands that Germany seems to produce at will and shows that they are now probably the true home of serious heavy metal in Europe! Any self respecting metalhead will already have at least one Sinner album in their collection but please be warned that there are a further 19 albums in the back catalogue with Brotherhood making it release number 20 and there are a number of decent collection albums out there too if you are looking for a quick and easy way to get into the group.

The band goes back to 1982 and was formed by the vocalist/bass player Mat Sinner (of Primal Fear and Voodoo Circle fame) and a fair number of musicians have come and gone over the forty year history of the band but this is the Mat Sinner show and he most definitely knows what he wants the band to sound like and his hordes of fans are in total agreement that Sinner is a metal band and they want it heavy, loud and proud. As with the one and only Priest, Sinner has managed to keep every album vital, different, new and fresh despite effectively following the same template which reinforces the quality that Mat Sinner has as a musician and song writer.

It’s been three years since the release of Santa Muerte but only feels like three months with Brotherhood following on from this very fine album. Effectively, the line-up remains stable with Mat on vocals and bass with guitars, as usual, from long-time band member Tom Naumann (he’s been with Sinner 35-years) and Alex Scholpp continuing the role he began on Tequila Suicide. Markus Kullmann is back again on drums with just the Italian sensation Giorgia Colleluori missing from the Santa Muerte team. Colleluori added a real zest to the last album but Mat Sinner likes to chop and change to keep the music valid and relevant so change is an occupational hazard of being a musician in Sinner! Mat also likes to include guests in his music and he has brought in some amazingly talented people with additional vocals courtesy of Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear), Ronnie Romero (Rainbow), Tom Englund (Evergrey) and Dave Ingram (Benediction) amongst many other musicians. No sign of any bloated egos in this band just quality professionals playing at the peak of their game and producing one hell of a monster album. Think Accept and Painkiller era Judas Priest and you will understand just why this band is so special and has so much to offer to the metal community.

Mat Sinner has an exceptional voice for metal with his guests perfectly complementing his full-on delivery with the twin guitars helping to make this a thrill a minute album that invites all who hear to jump on in and headbang all the way to heavy metal heaven. From the moment the album bursts into life with the thundering Bulletproof, as intense as anything on Painkiller, you know that the band is back and firing on all cylinders. The album closes with a neat bonus track which is a cover of The Killers When You Were Young and sees Sinner breathing real life into the song and shows just how far apart they are musically as this is the first time ever that I have enjoyed a Killers song.

Quite simply, if you are a metalhead then place your order now.


  1. Bulletproof (4:02)
  2. We Came To Rock (4:04)
  3. Reach Out (4:52)
  4. Brotherhood (4:22)
  5. Refuse To Surrender (3:37)
  6. The Last Generation (7:25)
  7. Gravity (5:09)
  8. The Man They Couldn’t Hang (5:16)
  9. The Rocker Rides Away (4:42)
  10. My Scars (4:02)
  11. 40 Days 40 Nights (5:51)
  12. When You Were Young (Bonus Track) (3:18)