June 11, 2022

Underground icon, extreme metal trailblazer, third world warrior, and leader of a diverse and dedicated tribe, Max Cavalera not only survives but thrives, blasting out riff after killer riff. The same spirit which launched SOULFLY in 1997 summons impossibly heavy noise to this day, throwing down ten slabs of monstrous music on the band’s twelfth album, Totem which is set for release via Nuclear Blast on August 5th.

Today, the band releases the album’s second single entitled, Scouring The Vile featuring John Tardy of OBITUARY. Check out the video for the track below or listen on streaming platforms.

SOULFLY‘s Max Cavalera comments: “Scouring the Vile is SOULFLY’s personal fuck you letter to cancer! The lyrics are angered by the loss of loved ones. It was amazing to share the vocals with an old veteran, John Tardy of OBITUARY.”

Last month, SOULFLY kicked off the album campaign with lead single, Superstition.  Pre-save the album to be in with a chance of winning a prize. Physical pre-order options are available now.

Talking about the album, SOULFLY‘s Max Cavalera informs, “Totem is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a 2-year journey writing with Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in Metal.”

Watch Max talk about the album title below and the inspiration and native spirituality behind it below.


  1. Superstition
  2. Scouring The Vile
  3. Filth Upon Filth
  4. Rot In Pain
  5. The Damage Done
  6. Totem
  7. Ancestors
  8. Ecstasy Of Gold
  9. Soulfly XII
  10. Spirit Animal

Available formats

  • CD Jewelcase
  • Blue Cassette (Limited to 300)
  • Long Box  (CD Jewelcase, sticker, pin)
  • Vinyl (Black or Gold)
  • Bundle (Album Shirt/CD Jewelcase)

Totem was recorded at Platinum Underground in Mesa Arizona by John Aquilino and Arthur Rizk with assistance from John Powers. Produced by Max alongside Arthur Rizk (Kreator, Code Orange), the album boasts guest appearances from John Powers (Eternal Champion), Chris Ulsh (Power Trip), and John Tardy (Obituary). Arthur Rizk also played lead guitar on the record. Album artwork was created by James Bousema.


Max Cavalera | Vocals & Guitar

Zyon Cavalera | Drums

Mike Leon | Bass Guitar

SOULFLY online:

Official Website