December 28, 2020

Italian female fronted metal band SOULS OF DIOTIMA will release their fourth studio album, titled Janas, on January 29th 2021 via Diotima Records/Rockshots Records.

The band unveiled the lyric video for the first single ‘The Black Mask’ in early December 2020. Check out the video below.

Commenting on the song the founder member, lyricist and drummer Giorgio Pinna explains: “The album’s opening track is perhaps one of the most incisive songs, and immediately defines the record. The Black Mask is about a well-known figure in Sardinia, the Mamuthones, a creature with a black mask who dresses in fur with heavy cowbells on its back. Together with twelve other similar creatures, it jumps rhythmically, sounding its bells to warn of its passage. This characteristic dance, often perceived as a little macabre, is reproduced in several parts of the song. The Mamuthones still perform today during pagan festivals and events in Sardinia. It’s a fascinating figure, somewhere between the devilish and the sacred, a man who dons a costume to become half human and half animal. The sound of their passing has been etched into our minds since our childhood”.

Janas was recorded, mixed and mastered by Oscar Nilsson at Crehate Studios in Mölndal (Sweden). The album Janas is a concept, the second chapter of a journey that began with the previous album, The Sorceress Reveals – AtlantisJanas tells the stories and legends of band’s land, Sardinia. Their island is full of wonderful mythological tales and characters, of esoteric stories that are often macabre, but which portray a truly fascinating historical and cultural journey.

“We have a shared interest in the history and culture of the peoples of the sea, of the Mediterranean, and we are one of them. Much of Western history is rooted in the tales of the peoples of the sea, skilled conquerors who crossed the seas to conquer new lands or to defend their own. But there is more. Within Sardinia there are places that often remain undiscovered. Far from the more accessible touristic locations, these places are steeped in stories both true and fictitious, which we were often told during our childhood, and which probably formed the basis of our personality and the way we see the world. In brief, Janas talks about these stories, about us, and about the Earth we have been walking on since we were born”, enthuses Pinna.

Janas track list

  1. The Black Mask
  2. Sleep Demon
  3. The Princess Of Navarra
  4. Janas
  5. The Dark Lady
  6.  Ichnos Superhero
  7. My Roots
  8. Maty
  9. Mediterranean Lane
  10. Sherden

SOULS OF DIOTIMA is a band with a unique style, featuring recognizable elements of traditional, progressive and symphonic metal, as well as unconventional elements, woven together musically in a powerfully expressive new way. Their style recalls Mediterranean atmospheres and traditions, and you can call it “Mediterranean Metal”.

Claudia Barsi – Lead Vocals
Giorgio Pinna – Drums
Antonio Doro – Bass, Scream Vocals
Fabio “The Black Mask” Puddu – Guitars