September 14, 2021

The Wring is a relatively new progressive metal band from Canada which was formed in 2015 by guitarist Don Dewulf with the self titled debut coming out in 2017 but I’ve been checking and it seems that it is not possible to get a copy of this album. However, it seems that it was effectively a demos release featuring a collection of local musicians that Dewulf knew and the band, as it were, folded relatively quickly although not before they had a chance to play with bands like Anvil, Diamond Head and the Dead Daisies. However, it seems that Dewulf has some worthwhile contacts and a conversation with Opeth’s Mikael Akerfeldt led to him writing new material and re-connecting with his old bassist Jason Henrie.

It seems that he has gone down the guest route for this new project work with Jason Sadites, Bryan Beller (Joe Satriani, Dethklok, Steve Vai), and the ever impressive Thomas Lang (Robert Fripp, Peter Gabriel) coming on board. The new album is short at just 30 minutes so it is really more of an EP but I think its main purpose is to show that Dewulf is alive and kicking and has something to offer to the progressive metal community. It also seems that The Wring3 is already in the recording stage so it will be interesting to see how that develops but no news yet on when we will see it.

The songs are all very heavily riff based and there is a definite flavour of the Dead Daisies, Fates Warning and even pre-keyboard era Rush which is not a bad base on which to build your band! The songs are all around 4-minutes so there are no real flights of fancy or overly complex songs to get your head around just good old prog metal with a touch of prog rock thrown into the mixture to keep everything fresh, interesting and give it just a little bit of an edge. The comparisons with Rush make this band a rather intriguing one and it will be interesting to see what the next album is like as this one merely whet’s the appetite at 30 minutes so let’s hope we get an ambitious progressive rock/metal extravaganza to follow it up with. Should be available from the usual streaming sites.

Wring2 – Project Cipher track list

  1. The Light (4:10)
  2. Sorceress (4:44)
  3. Cipher (4:29)
  4. Steelier (4:25)
  5. Dissension (4:08)
  6. Dose (3:27)
  7. Touch (4:29)