November 23, 2021

Powerhouse melodic hard rock quartet Giant are set to unleash their highly anticipated fifth studio album, Shifting Time, on 21st January 2022 via Frontiers Music Srl. The song Let Our Love Win is available now as a single and video.

Anchored by founder members David Huff and Mike Brignardello, they are joined by guitarist John Roth (Winger, Starship featuring Mickey Thomas, Jimi Jamison) and new vocalist Kent Hilli (Perfect Plan). Over a decade since their last album, the band is back with new music that showcases their perfect melodic rock blend. 

“We are very excited for people to hear Shifting Time! It has been way too long in between albums and we hope you find it worth the wait,” states drummer Huff. “We have worked so hard and we are very happy and proud of this record. Thanks to everyone at Frontiers and especially the fans for their undying support! We would love to follow up with some live dates in 2022.” In regard to the addition of Hilli to the line-up, he continues: “I was so impressed with Kent‘s vocals when I first heard him. He was a natural fit with our sound and we are thrilled to have him on board.”

As for HiIli himself, the singer adds: “Wow man, what can I say? To be asked to be the new singer for my all-time favourite band was, and still is, mind-blowing! I have a hard time grasping it all. I remember hearing Giant’s first album, Last Of The Runaways, in 1989 which totally blew me away, and since then I have probably listened to their music every week. And now working with David, Mike, John and also Alessandro [Del Vecchio, keyboards and production] has been a blessing and I am very proud of the music we have created together.”

Originally formed in the late ’80s by brothers Dann and David Huff, together with experienced jazz and rock keyboardist Alan Pasqua and Nashville session bassist Mike Brignardello, Giant swiftly became one of the most respected bands on the melodic hard rock scene. Their aforementioned debut album and its 1991 follow-up Time to Burn are still regarded as prime influences on many bands who came after. However, with the sudden change of musical climate in the early ’90s, the group disbanded and its members involved themselves in different projects, with both Dann and David Huff becoming well respected producers.

2001 saw Giant return and release III via Frontiers, an album that would prove to be a landmark record in a new era for their scene. Although other commitments made a full reunion impossible to maintain, the vision of bringing Giant back as a band with a recording and touring line-up was something they were always open to exploring. David Huff and Brignardello recruited vocalist Terry Brock (Strangeways, Seventh Key) and guitarist Roth to record the 2010 album Promise Land, which showcased top quality song writing and performances and became a fan favourite. However, with the exception of a one-off charity show in Nashville in 2017, the band subsequently went back into hibernation.

The Frontiers label had actually been in talks with Huff prior to that event about a new album, although it took the release of a 2019 cover version of the band’s hit Stay by Hilli‘s group Perfect Plan for things to fall into place. With Giant being his favourite band, and certainly possessing the chops to fill the shoes of Dann Huff, Frontiers suggested him to Huff and Brignardello and the duo were duly impressed. Hilli has also brought his song writing talents to the band and, together with other writers such as Alessandro Del Vecchio, Kristian Fyhr and Pete Alpenborg (plus contributions from Jonas Eriksson and Mike Palace), the resulting album will delight all melodic rock fans. Dann Huff has also given his seal of approval and appears on lead guitar for the song Never Die Young.

Shifting Time is produced by Huff, Brignardello and Alessandro Del Vecchio, with mixing and mastering by Del Vecchio for Frontiers Productions. Frontiers label president and head of A&R Serafino Perugino serves as executive producer.

Kent Hilli – lead vocals
John Roth – guitar
Mike Brignardello – bass
David Huff – drums
special guest
Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards, backing vocals

GIANT online: