September 28, 2020

This is the debut release by Landfall a heavy melodic rock band from Curitiba in Brazil which features the former Auras vocalist Gui Oliver and if you get chance then you should also check out the Auras debut album New Generation which is an excellent melodic release very similar to Journey, Toto and Survivor.

Landfall was put together by long standing friends drummer Felipe Souzza and guitarist Marcelo Gelbcke and it was when bassist Thiago Forbeci joined that the current band really began to take shape. The final piece in the jigsaw was Gui Oliver, a fine singer very much in Steve Perry territory and with a little of Joe Lynn Turner about him too and it this American AOR that shines throughout this excellent rock release. Think Journey, Dokken and Survivor and you will know exactly what is on offer here. However, this is not a re-hash of these great bands but a new band finding a place for itself in the melodic rock firmament and they do this mightily fine. I’m sure that Oliver will receive most of the acclaim and his powerful and soaring voice deserves to be heard but Souzza, Gelbcke and Forbeci are every bit as integral to the core Landfall sound and, between them, they make a quite formidable team. The album is a neat combination of drums and bass over which Oliver performs his magic and Gelbcke plays some damn fine guitar that I’m sure Neal Schon would be proud of.

Hard rocking tunes are mixed in with anthemic ballads with the songs being upbeat and hook laden, Landfall is a band surely with a great future ahead.

The Turning Point track list

  1. Rush Hour (4:59)
  2. No Way Out (4:23)
  3. Jane’s Carousel (3:50)
  4. Across The Street (4:58)
  5. Don’t Come Easy (4:33)
  6. Taxi Driver (3:43)
  7. Distant Love (4:34)
  8. Roundabout (3:48)
  9. Road Of Dreams (4:36)
  10. Hope Hill (5:06)
  11. Sound Of The City (4:40)